We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives Up to the Raves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
139, Blvd de Grand Case | across to La California, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
0590290025
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 restaurants in Grand Case
Price range: $30 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lives Up to the Raves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on favorable reviews on TA and elsewhere, L'Estaminet was on our must-do list for dining in Grand Case. We had a reservation, though in November, it may not have been strictly required. We were welcomed into the tiny but beautifully decorated (all chocolates and creams) space by one of the owner-chefs, who answered all of our questions (especially helpful with wine, since we are "new world" wine drinkers who are more familiar with the particular grapes than the regions by which "old world" wines are often designated) and pointed us in the right direction, as well as chatting with us throughout the meal.

Our meal was nicely-paced and delicious. I enjoyed the mushroom risotto garnished with seared foie gras, while my husband had duck breast stuffed with fig and foie gras -- yes, that pretty much knocked out our foie gras allowance for the year! Appetizers (escargot, scallops) and dessert were good as well, and we especially enjoyed the traditional complementary post-dinner shot that evoked tiramisu.

Merci beaucoup, for a lovely experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    308
    46
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The reviews are correct, l'estaminet is fabulous. We had dinner here on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary and Carole and Ina helped to make it a very special night. We did have a reservation, and we would suggest making one especially in full season.

The menu is very inventive and everything that we had was perfect! I had a Chilean Sea Bass for my entree and it was cooked perfectly. The service was spot on, just the right speed between courses.

The only drawback is the location so close to the road, however this is Grand Case.

Thank you again Ina and Carole!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Certainly the best in Grand Case”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I live on the island for 20 years and have tried most of the restaurants, specialy those in Grand Case, this is one of the best, or may be the best on the island. We had a wonderfull dinner, everything was great, tasty food cooked perfetly, ery inventive cuisine. The menu is really great, you want to come back to try what you haven't tried yet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband had made reservations for this place a week in advance because he was so excited to try not only the main meal but the chocolate cigar! Just FYI, you don't need reservations way in advance for most of the restaurants in Grand Case in the off season. We showed up early and they were more than accommodating. As a vegetarian, this place will blow you away with their creativity! I would rank this place close to the culinary sciences they use at MOTO in Chicago. My husband loved the seafood special and the stuffed pork tenderloins. All of the plates were beautifully and artfully presented. If you have room for desert you must try the chocolate cigar and the lollipops.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The service was a bit slow and a bit pretentious. The food was tasty and the portions were small. We were in St Martin for 9 days and tried many restaurants. We had high hopes for this place but found it average. The decorations are beautiful. The presentation of food is lovely. I can also say there was some creative options on the menu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Estaminet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.