We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spiga

Spiga
4 L'Esperance Road, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590 590 52 47 83
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 56 restaurants in Grand Case
Price range: $38 - $63
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Spiga restaurant, now in it's 12 year, serves authentic, modern Italian cuisine with friendly and professional service. Featuring 100 Italian wines and home made desserts. Chose the intimate porch for al fresco dining or dine in air-conditioned comfort in our open dining room.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Many people have recomended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We ate on the porch which could be a little noisy as it is on a busy street on the way into all the best restaurants in Grand Case. Staff was super.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    247
    64
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expected more....expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Acceptable Italian that started out nice but just never quite made the sale. When our check arrived unsolicited, the decision was made that this wasn't a repeater. If you are hankering for Italian you will like the decor but the service will leave you wanting much, much more,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had an early dinner for two on New Years Eve, so we could spend the later evening on Orient Beach. We got a little table for two in the corner of the front porch and the weather was perfect. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, service was timely and not rushed. The bottle of wine and all the food, from appetizers through dessert were nicely presented and very tasty. Everything we were hoping for.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent innovative Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We returned to Spiga on our second visit to St. Martin. It is truly phenomenal...every item on the menu is executed well and with fresh ingredients...definatley a stand out restaurant in the Carribean. The chicken dish is excellent, the pumpkin ravioli appetizer is to also amazing

The ambiance is a little plain compared to the other island top restaurants but still cozy and nice. The staff sometimes have a slight attitude...but not bad, just a slight. its fine though, we don't mind a touch of attitude if the product backs it up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Loved the lobster ravioli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a great dinner in Grand Case! We started with the lobster ravioli, which was just excellent. Later in the week we had another lobster ravioli at Le Pressior and it didn't compare. Dinner was fish for each of us and a unique (and very good) maple syrup dish for dessert. Service was quite good and very helpful. They did charge our credit card twice, but a quick call to Amex corrected it.

We put this and La Villa at the top of our list for Grand Case dining. We sat on the porch here and I think this location has a little more atmosphere than La Villa's dining room.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiga also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Spiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.