We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the strip in grand case” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiga

Spiga
4 L'Esperance Road, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590 590 52 47 83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Grand Case
Price range: $38 - $63
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Spiga restaurant, now in it's 12 year, serves authentic, modern Italian cuisine with friendly and professional service. Featuring 100 Italian wines and home made desserts. Chose the intimate porch for al fresco dining or dine in air-conditioned comfort in our open dining room.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Off the strip in grand case”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautifully restored Creole building....not on the "strip " but just as you are entering Grand Case from Orient Bay...it was recommended by friends who have been going for years and it did not disappoint.....wonderful selection of both food and wine....the pasta was so fresh that it melted in your mouth....some very creative dishes without going over the top....competitively priced for the area

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    280
    69
    26
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“By Far The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We spent the week dining in Grand Case and Spiga was our last stop befor the flight home. It was the best meal overall among several we enjoyed. The restaurant is a bit hard to find since its at the very top of the restaurant strip in Grand Case. You have to enter the town from the road for Orient Bay by the airport and its the first restaurant on your left entering the town. It's not on the water but the building and dining room is beautifully furnished and spotless. It's not big so if you are coming here in season, call for a reservation. The service was the best of our week and the food was its equal. We had the Osso Buco with truffled ravioli to start and the house wines by the glass were excellent. My Bombay gin martini was perfect!!! Desert was special. Tiramisu was great but I had a maple "cheesecake" with ice team and a caramel sauce that was the great finish to an exceptional meal. Also, exchange rate here was 1 Euro to $1 and my credit card slip was charged in $ so compared to the rest of Grand Case this place was 20-25% cheaper (not cheap but a better price). Cocktail, four glasses of wine, entrees and main course for two with desserts was $168 before the tip. Not inexpensive but worth it. Don't miss this place if you dine In Grand Case!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and even a little AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A truly amazing meal. It was as good as any I had on the island. I had a cheese stuffed chicken dish, every bite was fantastic. My wife was very disappointing that she didn't order it, not to say her meal wasn't great. She said her steak was cooked perfectly. The price was very fair, less expensive that some, more than others. It even had a little air conditioning inside, a rarity on the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The ambiance, food, and waitstaff all exceded my expectations. Fine italian dining in the heart of the caribiean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food and great service. Couldn't have had a better time! The escargot was fabulous and the rack of lamb was the best ever!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiga also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Spiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.