We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Instructor!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Octopus Diving

Octopus Diving
15 Blvd de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 914-487-1315
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$55*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba dive and snorkel with Octopus Diving. We have the best boats, the best equipment and hand picked staff to make sure you have the best experience possible. Our friendly PADI dive center is located in the town of Grand Case on the gorgeous tropical island of St. Martin / Sint Maarten, the culinary capital of the Caribbean. Whether you're an experienced diver ready to take your diving to the next level with advanced courses or specialties, a certified diver looking to explore St. Martin's amazing reefs and wrecks, a first-timer interested in discovering the world of diving or an avid snorkeler - or even if you've never been in the water before - we've got something for you, and we'll make your underwater experience one to remember.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Instructor!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I had a great time the other day at Octopus Diving. The whole diver team and administrative staff gave us such excellent services, and especially our instructor, JT, was great!! He had a great personality and was a detail oriented professional. We will definitely come back here and would like to be instructed from him again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    43
    2
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

sally and the team bent over backwards to ensure we had safe and fun dives.

17 of us walked off a cruise ship and Philippe was waiting for us with 2 vans. He stayed with us btw through the day and ensured we got back on time. Very accomodating of a large group.

Scuba team welcomed us, and within 30 minutes we were on the boats and heading out.

Boats are impeccably clean. Equipment top notch. Everybody friendly and helpful.

We dove two spots with a mix of experienced and new divers - all certified, which Octopus made sure of. Dives were exciting. Saw turtles on the second dive.

Our non-divers were pointed to Love Hotel where the service, drinks and the beach were heavenly.

Frenchies served up a great lunch after the dive.

This stop on our cruise ended up being one of the highlights. We'd go back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Referral Dives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My 12 yr old son just completed the open water dives for his PADI Basic Open Water rating with Octopus. The booking system was very simple, quick and Sally was great to deal with. My son was paired with Sara for the 4 dives and she couldn't have been a better match for him. Great instruction paired with lots of enthusiasm resulted in a great time for him and a low stress experience in completing the required skills. Dave took him out later in the week for his first wreck dive, and despite the site being difficult to get to due to weather and schedules, Sally was once again great to deal with. Knowledgeable, attentive and enthusiastic staff with a great location and lots of new equipment. Couldn't ask for much more.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great team & great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Octopus Diving are run by professionals which ensures all divers have a safe and fun experience. They employ highly competent staff, I dived with James who helped me through a number of speciality dives. Chris & Sally run a well organised business aimed at giving everyone value for money using high quality gear in very good condition. Safety is key to all staff as was clearly demonstrated by Dave, skippering on a windy day but he made sure everyone entered the water in a controlled and safe manner. Very enjoyable and hope to dive with them in the future.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Diving with Sara, Dave, and Steve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Creole Rock, Fish Pot and several other spots on a ten dive package.
They know they job, treat divers very well (they do all the work !)
Small group diving is an advantage, and the dive sites are nearby.
Lots of neat fish and turtles. Dolphins swam to and through our group !
50-60 feet dives for 40 - 45 minutes / excellent visibility

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Diving also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Octopus Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octopus Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.