We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cafe

Sunset Cafe
21 Rue de Petite Plage, Grand Case 97150 , St Maarten-St Martin
05 90 29 43 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 56 restaurants in Grand Case
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited the restaurant for lunch on a day visit to the island when on a cruise. The food and setting were fabulous we'll worth the taxi ride from the port. We had views of Anguilla whist having lunch, paradise.
Andre our driver was treated well by the proprietors, it was his first but not his last visit I am sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    161
    89
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tout est belle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Sitting on the beach at this moment outside Sunset Cafe! Ate here last nite and thoroughly enjoyed the on-the-water setting, food, free bottle of wine dealio, dessert, appetizer and free shots if rum...one coconut, one coffee!
Not the uber expensive, and frou-frou type place on the main drag, this is solid, tasty full-value dining! Friendly,too AND a barracuda that entertains diners at night!!
Boardwalk around back of restaurant nice...watch your step though!
On the grounds of the Grand Case Beach Club...NOT by the airport!
Will come again before we leave...just plain solid deal!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best view of the 2nd most dangerous airport in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Better than expected food, good beer selection and most important airplanes landing at a arm reach, liked their location by the beach

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderful view of the ocean.Lunches were outstanding breakfast very good . The service and staff very prompt and friendly

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner Here is Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Skip trying this place for breakfast. Lunch is well done, but dinner is where they shine. Great specials. Good service. Phillipe is very good at what he does and we're happy to know him. Everything we had for dinner was well done and tasty. A sizeable baracuda shows up in the evenings. You can enjoy that speactacle while edining on great food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cafe also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sunset Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.