We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Routine Cuisine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Escapade

L'Escapade
94 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-7504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Price range: $24 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Romantic French Restaurant by the water in the Grand Case Bay since 1981
Toronto
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Routine Cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This restaurant has always been highly recommended, so my husband and I decided to try it. Perhaps they werehaving an off night. The food, while good, was not exceptional (yet another lobster ravioli), the service was rather harried, and the ambience just the usual for Grand Case - it is on the sea, which is a plus, but there is nothing unusual about it. Compared to some of the others, it is nothing to write home about. And L'Escapade is notably more expensive than most. In addition, their washroom was rather unpleasant - not very clean. So - while one can certainly dine well here - I would not give it high marks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    29
    11
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I have spent many months in France and this restaurant is right up there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Truly innovative French food in the Caribbean. The chef is a master of foi gras, among many other things. Ingredients are fresh, presentations naturally beautiful but not fussy -- in the spirit of Jacques Pepin. Not cheap, but one of the best experiences I have had eating French food in the western hemisphere. The menu changes frequently so there is no point in going into details of what we ate , but just know that this place is fantastic. Very good wine list that accomodates a wide range of prices. It is located in Grand Case, which is an area with lots of other restaurants, mostly French. It is north of of Marigot, about 10 minutes drive from the Radisson Blu resort. Our table was about five meters from the ocean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant with a beautiful sunset view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After a long day working at Philipsburg, this restaurant has all you to put empty your head. After a 20 minutes drive from Frontstreet Philipsburg (no traffic jams this time) a colleague and I arrived at Grand Case. In the main street there are a lot of restaurants, one of them being L'Escapade. A beautiful open restaurant, with a very friendly staff and we were just in time to witness a beautiful sunset. Add the delicious food and we had a perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best place on the island to celebrate a special occasion!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I will begin this review by starting last March when we visited "'Escapade" for the first time for my wife's birthday. It turned out to be a marvelous decision. In all repects(food, atmosphere, service), it was a perfect venue to celebrate the occasion. What truly separated L'Escapade from anywhere else we had eaten on the island was the owner, Jerry. What an incredible gentleman! He surprised us with a delicious dessert with the Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. The staff sang Happy Birthday and took pictures for us.

We kept in touch with him by e-mail, and when we recently returned to St. Martin on November 1st for 2 weeks, we knew where we would be going to celebrate my BD on November 7th. We were not disappointed! Everything was just as amazing as when we were there for my wife's BD.

Jerry was genuinely thrilled to see us, as were we to see him. Of course it goes without saying that the meal was superb! You MUST have the French Onion Soup. It is as good if not better than anything we have ever had! - including at some of the finest restaurants in Montreal where we visit often.

Make sure you go just before sunset and sit at a table overlooking the water. You will see Anguilla in the distance. The sunset is truly breathtaking!

Also make sure you call first to make sure Jerry is going to be there, and tell him Mark & Karyn from Toronto sent you. You will be thrilled that you listened to us - and tell Jerry we said hi!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Gourmet & Tasty too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A colleague and I drove up from near the airport (about 30 minutes) to see Grand Case. We'd heard about L'Escapade from other reviews, and were fortunate to find the restaurant open. Being September, the low season, most everything else was closed. L'Escapade is trusly a fantastic place - about 25 tables only which means relatively quiet and personal. It sits right on the beach - the waves roll just a few feet from the restaurant. We had the place mostly to ourselves, depsite it being 9:00pm. The food was exceptional - see the pictures. Our server recommended the raw scallop appetizer and after getting a "Are you serious" from us, offered to give it to us for free if we didn't like it. It was one of the best scallop dishes I've ever had - raw, cooked, or other. Dinner itself was equally tasty (with one of the largest shrimp I've ever seen) - the extensive French wine list produced a Bordeaux wine that was rich and bold - and dessert... The soufle would have taken 15 minutes to cook, we should have ordered it with the meal, so we "settled" for something else - a perfect complement to dinner. The staff was always accessible, but remained unobtrusive. I'll echo the other reviewers that say this is the perfect place for a special event dinner - but I'll add that you definitely must go - special event or not - you absolutely do not want to miss this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escapade also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Escapade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.