We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and delicious dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Gourmande

L'Auberge Gourmande
89 Boulevard de Grand Case, Grand Case 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
(590) 87 73 37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Whitestone, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose to eat here for our last night in st Martin and since it was my husbands birthday! We are from New York and are no strangers to fine dining. Well this was fine dining without the stuffiness or the price. The staff was most friendly and eager to please! We were greeted with champagne to start our experience. My husband had the escargot and I the frog legs for appetizers.....absolutely divine, if you have never tried those this is your chance. I had the Mediterranean Sea bass (whole) which was then filleted at the table. This was our favorite meal of our vacation. We especially loved the decor as well....we forgot we were in St Martin....thought we were in France..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    89
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As visitors for over 22 years, we have favorite restaurants in Grand Case that we return to every year, and this is one of them. Always delicious and always a great evening. The strawberry cake dessert is "to die for". I asked for it when we first arrived, and was told to return the following week, and it would be on the specials menu. We did, and it was! So wonderful... We spent 5 weeks in St. Martin, and returned to this great restaurant several times. Don't miss it on your visit to Grand Case.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Speechless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Food was sooooo good! Must go to eat here if vacationing on St Martin! The atmosphere and service was phenomenal! Every bite was mouthwatering. The complimentary glass of champagne and rum was a very nice touch! I must say I was very impressed. Would go back again and again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently ate here and found the food to be pretty good. However, I was more impressed with the service and ambience. For more pics/commentary, see www.gustatori.com.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was very charming!! Cosy and delicious! Great service! We had a very good dinner! If we have the chance to come back it will be amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge Gourmande also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to L'Auberge Gourmande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Gourmande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.