We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE & UNHYGENIC” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Turtle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Simpson Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Turtle Inn
Airport road 114, Simpson Bay 9999, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE & UNHYGENIC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here 1 night in August as it was close to the airport for our flight the next morning. On arrival at 5.15 pm after a 15 hour trip the place was desered. No reception, no staff, no information or phone numbers to call. Ended up going next door to Avis to see if they knew anything. An employee at Avis knew a friend who knew the owner and after about an hour the employee from Avis was told where the key to the room was in the restaurant. The room was old and tired looking. Wi-fi did not work, there were no towels and no running water to have a shower, wash or flush the toilet. Went outside to check the water metre (it may have just been turned off) and found the metre had been clamped to the 'off' position. Can only assume the owner hadn't paid his water bill. During the night a person who we can only assume was the security guard arrived with a friend and talked till around 2.30am in close proximity to our room. On leaving around 7.30am we found outside our room a huge bucket of water. No doubt this was for washing and flushing the toilet. We booked this hotel over the internet and were required to provide our credit card details. Should we have arrived without having provided these details we would have immediately gone elsewhere. We were charged approximately $100.00 for no service and inadequate facilities - the lack of running water for showering and toilet facilities is totally unacceptable. We would like the owners to consider refunding our money but would guess this would be an unlikely scenario. Would not recommend this place to anyone..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    4
    9
    13
See reviews for
3
27
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here one night in june...thank god it was just one night!!! my flight came in late,when i got to the hotel by cab around 10:30 pm i was frightened. it was pitch dark and there was a guy standing outside next to a motorcycle. I had to just hope he was a lagit employee of the hotel. he took my friend and i to the back....dark walkway....took us to the bar area to check us inn. there is no check in desk or professional set up. finally got to the room and it was badly taken care of. see pics posted. The breakfast was tastly but the staff is not proffesional or work in timely manner. make this your last palce u ever choose to stay at!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is place is beyond horrible. We stayed here for one night due to it being close to the airport. The sheets had to be changed due to hair being all over it! Mosquito infested we had to purchase mosquito repellent and bombers and to top it off we were told they no longer carry wash clothes because the are closing down soon. There was a weird chripping noise that kept Me up all night. I felt like I was sleeping in the zoo.

Room Tip: Find somewhere to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I've been in this "hotel" 1 night in May, during my return trip to Europe, with my girlfriend. My needs were: a decent room, quite close to the Airport at a fair price. We instead fall into this trap. To put it simple this is not an hotel and it sucks!
The "hotel" is situated very close to the Airport but in a location difficult to find, between a gasolin station and a decadent restaurant. There is no reception, only a dark office where a lady is waiting for the guests, The hotel and the restaurant are on a Pier overlooking the sea, there is a small dirty decadent garden in between with ....poor monkeys trapped in a cage, and ...parrots ...trapped in a cage as well. All around decadence and dirt...the restaurant also looks dirt and old, with rusty furnishings....well at this point you wonder. am I dreaming or what? That was really surreal! The room is in this decadent style, with a slight door that makes feel you very unsafe.We couldn't sleep very well beacuse of this gloomy atmosphera and also beacause we started to scratch ourselves, probably due to some lice or so. Fortunately we had to wake up at 4 am in the morning, and that was a liberation. I'll put it shortly: if you need to stay one night in St Maarten DON'Tgo there, instead choose the soonesta mahoo beach which is very close to the airport, to the beach and to a famous beach bar which you will enjoy (as we did). I forgot one thing: for this unforgettable experience at "Royal inn" we paid 100 us$! Simply a theft!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is closing down by the end of the month April i was told by some staff when i stop by to make reservation for next year. Since Dwayne left the hotel it has gone to the dogs. The French owners seem to not have done a good job. There were a few great staff and most seem to have left and they did a great job keeping up the place, wonder why did they leave. This place have potential but it need some good TLC and the owners had none.I will for sure miss this place but i hope someone open it back and get great staff. When we stayed there a few weeks ago we had to ask for towels as there were not any in the rooms. Then the french lady went to another room and give us some as they have not much. The Breakfast is great but the guy that work in the is not nice at all. The owners do not speak english, so its hard to understand her.

Room Tip: The rooms are all run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, WI
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is 10 minute walk to the airport in St Martin. They have a nice pool that is quiet. The room has a very nice bed and mattress. There was a TV with many channels and a refrigerator in the room. Free WIFI reception was OK if we were outside our room near the pool. The walls of the room were a little thin, but our neighbors were quiet. The Hotel is a bed and Breakfast.

We had to leave before they started serving breakfast, so they made us a carry out breakfast the night before we departed that we kept in the refrigerator. The food was ham and turkey sandwiches and fruit. There is a restaurant as part of the hotel where we had a snack at night of Creme brûlée. Some of the best I've had.
We got to the Hotel mid morning prior to leaving the island. We spent the afternoon at the end of the runway on Airport Beach watching the planes land. The beach is 20 minute walk from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and wasn't too impressed really. The rooms are kind of nicely appointed, but the TV was not working properly, the shower head was not attached to the wall which made showering kind of hard (holding the shower in one hand and trying to use the soap with the other). Also the promised free WiFi did hardly work. Supposedly it would not work well in the rooms, but better around the pool. In reality I was unable to connect, even in the restaurant. Breakfast starts late. I arrived for breakfast around 7.20 and was advised in a not-too-friendly-tone that breakfast would start in about 15 minutes. In reality it was about 7.40 which is rather late for a business person. One definitely upside, especially for tourists: the view from the pier where breakfast is served is nothing short of spectacular. Nice view of lagoon and the surrounding hills. Positive is also the fact that it is truly in walking distance from the airport. But the whole property is in dire need of some TLC. With a bit more attention for detail it could be a true winner. Must admit by the way that the breakfast which is included in the room price was quite good and the choice quite ample.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Turtle Inn

Address: Airport road 114, Simpson Bay 9999, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for a comfortable quiet vacation on St Maarten / St Martin or as your hub while visiting the surrounding Caribbean Islands Saba, Statia,St. Kitts, St Barths, Anguilla. A Hotel on the Island of Saint Maarten/ St.Martin in the Caribbean with lovely decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Turtle Hotel Simpson Bay
The Royal Turtle Inn St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Royal Turtle Inn to your Saves list