We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Shell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Shell Inn to your Saves list
Turquoise Shell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Baldwin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for one night, first week in May. The place was clean, with a kitchen, very close to all the restaurants and the airport. The owner was very friendly. The beach was right out back. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    56
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
121
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are seeking a quiet, clean and accessable stay, look no further, this littel gem is just tucked away from all the action. Nestled between two pristine turquoise waterways and just a stone thorws from all the excitement and fun of Dutch St. Maartin.Walk out your back door and you are on beautiful Simpson Bay or relax by the tropical setting of a cool size pool and more. Very European and unsuspectiing this Inn is the place to relax and still get to were things are happening in a short stroll. Carter is the ideal host always available to help get you where you need to be. We stayed a long while and look forward to a speedy return. We had access to more then one room and they were all comfy, clean and much like home. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: Best Internet in town- you dont need a car-
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this inn the week of Easter. It is just 7-10 min from airport but planes only fly from 8 am to 9-10 pm. We were not bothered by airplane noise at all. The place is small and somewhat outdated. However, it is very clean, has kitchen and provides maid service. AC is only in the bedroom. Keep the bedroom door open and put the fan they provide in the doorway to blow cold air to the living-room area.The location is right on the Simpson Bay strip with lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. In the back of the inn there is Simpson Bay beach. It is clean with lots of seashells. Water was calm in daytime, but some waves after 3 pm. There is no shade or chairs. You will need an umbrella but chairs can be provided by the inn. They had some to borrow. Unfortunately that Friday and Saturday were big party nights across the street at the bar. The music was blasting through the speakers from 11:30 pm until 3:30 am. 2 NIGHTS IN A ROW!!! It was horrible. We could not sleep for 2 nights. And we had a child with us. Maybe it was only during holiday weekend. But you've been warned. The inn has terrible WiFi service and connection. You have to sit outside by the pool to get connection. Not all the rooms have the phone. You have to go to main office to use their phone. There is an international charge to call from Dutch to French side. The pool is basic. Lots of mosquitoes at night, especially by the pool. The do have shaded parking which was great. Overall, the location is busy, beach is acceptable, inn is clean and service is good. I have to mention Norman (I think). When our ride to the airport was late, he stopped what he was doing and drove us, refused to accept any tip. Great guy!

Room Tip: not all rooms have phone. No good view from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
The issue of noise has been mentioned in other reviews. It CAN be a problem on the weekend nights. Especially for those that are light sleepers. The inn is in the heart of Simpson Bay which is very convenient for walking to stores, bars, and restaurants. but the loud music is a problem. Several businessse and residents in the area have contacted authorities and ask for help. We have been assured MANY times that the noise ordinances would be enforced. Unfortunately, the police and government here in St Maarten are not always effective in this area. We continue to request the help of authorities and there may actually be a court case started against the loud music producers. But for now, I can only warn guests and apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is a karaoke bar next door to Turquoise Inn & the very loud music lasted tlill 3 am & then there was some sort of beeping right outside our window....so it was a sleepless night. There were mosquito nets in the room....not sure why?

Room Tip: Atrium was better...but staff at front desk was rude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week this month and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We loved the separate bedroom as I'm an early riser and my husband is not. The kitchen was great - we loved being able to cook breakfast and keep all our leftovers in the fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The beach was steps away from the room - the beach wasn't visible from the hotel room but we were so close that it didn't matter. We loved the beach by the hotel - it was basically our own - as their weren't very many others using it. The location of the hotel was perfect as many great restaurants/grocery stores/activities were nearby. We would definitley come back and stay again.
Carter was a great host and Cornelia took great care of the room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here during the Heineken regatta, it was a last minute reservation after our other accommodations with friends fell through. We didn't have a car, and the location was great for walking to town, and it was easy to get a taxi as well. The room has all the basic necessities, and it was nice to have the kitchen although we didn't use anything but the fridge. As others have commented, I have never seen a towel sign like theirs before (you will be charged extra if the white towels become stained). It seems to me that with all white towels, bleach would be an easy solution to that problem. We had an odd encounter with the manager/owner when we wanted to check out. As requested, my friend called the "front desk" to let him know that we planned to leave within the next 30 minutes. He told her that wouldn't be a convenient time for him to come downstairs, and he told her to come by in an hour instead. When she told me this, I called back and let him know that we would either check out now as requested, or leave our luggage in the room while we went to get breakfast, and check out when we return. He said that wouldn't be enough time for the housekeepers to clean, so I responded "Not a problem, we'll just check out now then." And we did. We enjoyed our stay here, but the exit process certainly made us uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights before checking into a resort. It was a great choice; very helpful owner, air conditioned clean room with separate bedroom and kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable. You may question your choice as you approach the location as it is nestled into a local neighbourhood. Once you enter the gate the bright yellow rooms and lush vegetation make you feel like you are in the real Carribean. You can walk to many restaurants and grocery stores. There is a small pool and the lovely beach is a short walk across a quiet street. The owner supplies beach chairs which we made use of. This is not a luxury hotel however we have fairly high standards and we felt at home here. Great value and a unique experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.