We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Shell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Turquoise Shell Inn to your Saves list
Turquoise Shell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed here at least 6 times and the hotel is consistently clean and the service is friendly. The hotel is basic but good value for money and the location is good although there some of the adjacent night clubs are very noisy (till 3:30 p.m.). I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    54
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
120
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stay four nights in October 2012. I must admit I was not expecting much for the price but the stay was wonderful. Our room was nice, cozy and very clean. The grounds well cared for. Carter the owner is very friendly and he takes very good care of you. I can't say enough about Cornelia. In Carter absence she is the goto person. She will do everything to make you stay a pleasant one. Carter has a hidden jewel. Who knew one of the best kept secrets is in the heart of Simpson Bay.

Karen and Greg A..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Cornelia and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at the T Shell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My whole family stayed here, we took up the entire first floor! It was wonderful, one of the most relaxing, homey, vacations ever. You feel like you are in your own apartment. I loved having the full kitchen so that we could eat breakfast when we wanted, keep all our drinks cold, snack when we wanted, and not have to go down 10 floors and wait to be seated, etc. like you would in a big hotel. It was within walking distance of a wonderful French bakery for breakfast items and pastries, there were 3 stores close by, several restaurants within walking distance for the "local" feel, and a Subway & McDonalds in case you wanted something familiar (or ice cream!). Only once did we have to share "our" beach, we were usually the only ones on it. You felt safe going out to see the sunrise or walking the beach at sunset. Having Carter provide beach chairs was awesome. I also like the idea of sitting in the shade by the pool to read or visit. It was great that there was never anyone saying, "the pool is closed, come back later", we had total access to hang out as we liked. It was absolutely wonderful and I will be back again!

Room Tip: I enjoyed having the ground floor as we got a little table and chairs on our patio. I would go outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My daughter treated me to a birthday trip to St. Maarten. She found this wonderful Inn that was close to everything we needed, yet felt like an island hide-away. The room was very clean, and well equipped. Room is an understatement, this is more like a one bedroom apartment. Kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave, dishes and utensils. Many restaurants within a short walk but also grocery stores if you wanted to cook there. We loved The Palms restaurant which is almost in front of the Inn, (rated in another of my reviews)! The Inn is across the street (not a very busy street) from Simpson Bay beach. We were provided with beach towels and snorkel equipment to explore the Bay. We had a rental car to drive but also took the bus to Phillipsburg. This is the only place I have stayed at in St. Maarten, but would certainly go back and suggest you go see for yourself! Carter and Cornelia are friendly and the whole staff made our stay even better. And the only bugs were a few mosquitos!

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room, 5 rooms are ground floor, 5 are above them. I believe all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only spent one night as we were checking into time-share resort the next day but the Inn was everything advertised. Close to the airport, close to restaurants and night life and very easy access to the beach (just out the back door). Rooms were clean and adequately furnished. Carter was an excellent host and very willing to share info on where to dine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel is clean, nicely ran and a good place to stay as you would expect, but what I liked was to be in walking distance of EVERYTHING a nightlife loving girl would need.

Yes there was live music nearby, and I thank God for that as I never see live music anymore in the UK. If yoiu want peace and quiet stick in the ear plugs or try another place, but if you want a full flavour of St Maarten ... this place is it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was all we expeccted, but much more. Only a short stay as we were in transition to another island location. However, Carter Glass and Cornelia were extraordinaire as hosts. Comfortable rooms, Safe environment, decent beach access to Simpson Bay. TShell Inn has it all. With a little luck we will visit again and stay much longer. Thanks Carter and Cornelia.

Room Tip: Because it was but a short stay and my spouse has difficulty with stairs, we had a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.