We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little gem, will definitely stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Shell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Shell Inn to your Saves list
Turquoise Shell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Excellent little gem, will definitely stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you are looking for an intimate little hotel in the centre of the action for a very reasonable price this is the place. With only 10 units, you can make a personal connection with the staff and the neighboring guests. There is a gate providing security, but I did not feel confined as I have experienced at all-inclusives with guards watching your every move. At the same time, I never felt nervous at any time about coming and going, both on foot and with my rental car.

It was not fancy, but had everything you needed: a well-provisioned kitchenette, a separate bedroom and tidy bathroom. Everything was very well-kept and clean. The pool was a little small so not conducive to swimming any laps, but I an a beach and ocean girl, so wasn't a concern.

Would definitely recommend to friends as well as stay again on a future visit to St Maarten.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom level are preferable if you wish to have your own little patio area. The up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We like to hear when guests are ready for a return visit. Those recommendations are our best advertising
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
126
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Chose this hotel based on reviews - was a bit worried when we saw the driveway but once inside was surprised at how nice it was. Great location. Marcus was so helpful and very welcoming after we had to call to advise we had missed our connection and would be a day late. He was so pleased to see us when we FINALLY arrived. Room was very clean and well equipped for our needs. Beach was great. Location is fantastic and so handy to everything including the supermarket (rooms have a small kitchen) - not that we needed it as we ate out all the time. Nothing was too much trouble for Marcus which at the end of a long trip to get there (we came from Frankfurt after 5 weeks in Europe) was great. Will stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our stay in St. Maarten was great. TSI is a clean budget hotel, just what we were looking for. Behind the hotel is a beach that was perfect for relaxing in the daytime. Hardly anyone was on the beach so we pretty much had it all to ourselves. Marcus' restaurant and bar suggestions were spot on. Our favorite place to eat was Lee's Grill & Seafood and the best place to wind down the night was the Buccaneer Bar. We used the supermarket up the road to stock our fridge with drinks and snacks. We froze a couple water bottles which turned into handy ice packs when we brought the drinks to the beach. We brought a soft cooler bag with us, but Marcus also has coolers for you use if you need one along with umbrellas and beach chairs. TSI is in a great location with plenty of restaurants, bars and grocery stores in walking distance. If you make it to Marigot, definitely check out Sarafina french bakery for lunch.

Thank you to Marcus, Carter and the rest of the TSI crew for such a great time. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We loved this place, close to many restaurants, very simple place, great service. It is not a fancy hotel, but it has everything you might need to enjoy your time in St. Maarten. We would absolutely recommend this place to anybody visiting the great, fun island of St. Maarten, and you have to experience the take off and landing of planes from sunset as well, it is a must.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

TSI was a nice place to base our stay. We were looking for an affordable, nice place to stay and found it at TSI. It is not a resort, it is a very nice, small inn. It was quieter than we read it might be. Clean room, nice kitchenette, nice beach across the street, everything we planned was within walking distance, including many restaurants, grocery stores, sailing and ferries. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Traffic in Simpson Bay, coming from the airport can be BRUTAL, so be prepared if you have a car. We didn't get a car this time, so we didn't have to deal with traffic. There is a lot to see, so you might need a car if you want to explore the island.
We saved a lot of money by having some meals in our room instead of going out all the time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on this Forum and the Inn's proximity to the airport. I must say that everybody's reviews are "spot on". If you have either a late in the evening flight arrival and/or an early departure, this is an excellent choice. You are 5 minutes from the airport and even late at night, the directions are so clear, we had NO trouble finding it. This is a very small inn so the individual attention that the hosts and housekeeper give you is wonderful. All three are fonts of good information for guests who have never been on the island before. The suites are very well appointed and scrupulously clean. We were very impressed with the security of the parking lot and the complex as a whole. You are freely offered the use of any beach equipment that you might need. One thing I would mention for the ladies...request a hair dryer right up front when you check in. I assumed that there would be one in the room but they are handheld ones that you are loaned as opposed to the ones that lots of hotels have mounted on the wall. I forgot to ask for one on our stay and wasn't really aware that they were available until we were checking out and another couple were checking in (who were repeat visitors) and the lady had one in her hand as well as the beach towels. This inn was a very good choice for us and if we ever trade in to St. Maarten again, we will extend our stay on both ends of our week in this location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a great week at this little hotel. Curtis and Marcus gave us the best recommendations on where to go and what to do while in the island. Location is great, near of everything. The place is neat and clean. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.