We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service for the low key traveler!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Shell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Shell Inn to your Saves list
Turquoise Shell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
brooklyn, ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top notch service for the low key traveler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

If you're looking for a hotel with complimentary seaweed spa treatments and gold lined jacuzzis' this is not your place. However I'm sure Marcus and Carter could arrange it if you really wanted! :) Seriously the staff here is amazing. So pleasant and nice to deal with, able to get you pretty much whatever you want. They arranged our car rental which was perfect. Angela delivered our car to the hotel and then gave us a ride back to the airport when we were leaving she even said next time we visit she would pick us up at the airport. This way you don't have to deal with the shady car rental guys at the airport! The rooms are clean and ours had a living room area and a kitchenette. Air conditioner in the bedroom which can cool the whole "apartment". Comfortable bed, I slept like a baby! They do have a small pool but you'll be at the beach most of the time anyway! Free wifi! Off street (safe) parking! The location is very near grocery stores and many restaurants. Simpson Bay beach is right across the road. It's a beautiful beach that is not as crowded as many others. I really can't say enough about this place. It is low key and economical and overall just a great place to stay! Thank you T. Shell for making our trip amazing!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you back in the furture at the T Shell Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
126
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sparty-1977
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just got back from 8 great days on St. Maarten. Second time we stayed at the T-Shell and they didn't disappoint. Clean as can be; access to one of the best beaches on the island; close to the airport and other places such as the grocery and bakery. It is very comfortable and low key. If you need to rent a car, have Carter or Marcus hook you up with Angela, meets you both ways a the airport to pick it up and drop it off, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice stay with friendly staff, was very helpful. Absolutely clean rooms equiped with all needs. Bath and beach towels.Snorkeling set, noodles, sun chairs and umbrela for free rent. Two shops very close to hotel opened till evening. Felt very safety and comforatble in this place. Could recomend also with children more than 5 yrs old. Beach just few steps, cross road (no cars usually), clean and without people. Very popular Maho beach could be reach by foot, along beach, about 30min.. Nice place good price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Our group of 16 friends stayed for 3 nights at the Turquoise Shell Inn in March. We were very warmly received and quickly given our rooms and rundown on the Inn and the area. We had read all the reviews but the Inn was even better than expected. We all loved our rooms, they had everything we needed and were spotless. Carter, Marcus and Pauline were amazing, very kind and gracious hosts. Car rentals, restaurant choices and information they provided enabled everyone to travel around the island as they wished.Each evening we gathered around the pool to recap the day before heading out for the evening as a group. I highly recommend this Inn and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Tshell Inn March 26-Apr 1. This is one of our best vacations yet, and it all started with Tshell. We arrived mid afternoon to a clean and spotless property. We were gladly welcomed with a full tour/info session with Carter. The rooms were exactly as stated and even cleaner than expected (credit to Polly). The location of the hotel could not be better as it is centrally located on the Simpson Bay strip and right next to a quiet and beautiful beach. With helpful tips from Carter and Markus we traveled the island by public bus (actually they are small vans) and felt completely safe the entire time. We traveled during spring break and expected some loud music but were surprised that this was not an issue and slept great every night. Snorkel equipment, chairs and coolers were offered for no additional charge (a huge plus). All in all, we are planning a trip back to T Shell in late June/July and cannot wait!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many guests do appreciate the "loaner" beach supplies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

It was our first time visiting St. Maarten and we booked the Turquoise Shell solely based on its great ratings on TripAdvisor.....happy to say that the ratings didn't lie.

I must admit that we were a bit skeptical when we first arrived since the location was a bit set back off the main street and we thought we were going down an alley.

Our worries were quickly squashed upon arrival though. Marcus greeted us and was very hospitable. He gave us a tour of our room. We also met the maid, Molly. Everyone was very friendly and the room was immaculately clean.

The beach and clear blue water is just steps outside. There are plenty of restaurants nearby in walking distance. Also nearby are several car rental services- we paid $30/day to drive around the island. Very convenient.

Definitely recommend checking out the Turquoise Shell Inn. If you're lucky, you'll also get to meet Elizabeth- a resident who is a neighbor of the Inn and a delight to talk to (we called her "the Ambassador").

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TShellSxm, Owner at Turquoise Shell Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
We like to hear that guests feel the previous reviews were accurate. First time guests to St Maarten give us a chance to introduce new folks to our beautiful island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Nice surprise!! Much cuter in person. Carter very nice and helpful. They make you feel like this is your home away from home. The beach is amazingly quiet and can walk or take mini van for $3.00 around Simpson Bay. I have never seen a cleaner room ever!!! Would stay again but longer in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Shell Inn

Address: 34 Simpson Bay Rd., Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turquoise Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 10 room Inn located in the heart of Simpson Bay. Easy walking distance to all manner of shopping. Simpson Bay beach just our the back gate. Each unit is a small one bedroom apartment with equipped kitchen and private air cionditioned bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turquoise Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Shell Hotel Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Simpson Bay
Turquoise Shell Inn St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.