We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive food-attentive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crave

Crave
101 Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
721-5860467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inventive food-attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a new restaurant in a small space on the main drag in the Simpson's Bay Area. I had the chicken breast with pomegranate walnut sauce. Large portion delicious and rice which seems a very difficult thing to cook properly was perfect. Everyone at our table raved about the food and appetizers were very creative and perfect for sharing. The owner worked his rear off serving the entire room and was very engaging in the process. Best food we had in two weeks on the Island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
thank you for your kind review. you brought smile to our faces. we are glad we did our part to your satisfaction and couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your experience. complimentary tease on your next visit :)
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    38
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived in St. Maarten for our 2nd visit and decided to go for a walk.
We stopped to look at the menu of this new (to us) restaurant and were warmly greeted by the owner. We had two absolutely fantastic meals at Crave during our stay and would have eaten there more if we hadn't gone to Pinel and Anguilla during our short stay. The appetizers are all brilliant (we loved the cucumber appie and the meatballs) and my husband said his chicken was the most tender he'd ever had, and it was! My beef was to die for and the owners have a standing invitation to come visit us in NY. They are absolutely lovely and transformed a great meal into a cherished memory. Go to Crave. You'll be so glad you did!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and rewarding review.we are honored to have amazing guest like you which with their love and support transform Crave to a little piece of Heaven.
you are too kind. we for sure let you know if we ever come to visit new york :) thank again
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I ate here on Saturday night. The meal was truely wonderful. Three appetizers and the lamb shank. Each was a culinary delight. Perfect portions where one could taste the love and quality and creative flair without wasting food or feeling stuffed afterwards. The flavorings, herbs and spices worked perfectly in a blend of edible delight. My advise is to try Crave early in your trip so you can go back again before you depart. I wish they had a crave back in New York !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.knowing that the love and care we put in each and every meal didn't go unnoticed is very rewarding.your review simply made our night.Thanks again .complimentary teaser on your next visit
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
“Crave is delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As New Yorkers, we have been to many good restaurants but I have to say Crave has some of the best Mediterranean dishes on the island, The service is great and the dishes are unique.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
thank you for your very kind and rewarding review. it means a lot and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Crave.
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to the Simpson Bay restaurant scene.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

On a recent trip to St. Martin we were delightfully surprised with what we found at Crave. After reading the many positive reviews here, we put it on the must try list. Simpson Bay is a bit lacking in food options compared to other spots on the island. However, Crave has proven this is a thing of the past. The wonderful and unique Persian cuisine was a welcome reprieve from the rich, heavy fare of the French side and the simpler, island fare of other Simpson Bay spots. Everyone in the party raved about their meals, especially enjoying the succulent apricot and pomegranate-walnut chicken dishes. Their kebab was also superior to most I've had in the past. Excellent location and truly unique and delicious food. A must try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaz J, Owner at Crave, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and detailed review.your kind words are very encouraging and we hope we only become better as the journey continues . thank you for taking the time out of your day and sharing your experience with us and its very rewarding to know that you enjoyed.
Kind Regards,
Naz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crave also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Crave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;