We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be In A Hurry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Beach Bar and Restaurant Royal Palm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cabana Beach Bar and Restaurant Royal Palm
#114 Cole Bay Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't Be In A Hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Dined here one rainy night while staying at The Royal Palm. The service was just okay and VERY, VERY slow. Our pastas were good but overpriced (probably average for the area). The restaurant is on the beach and has a good view. We will not dine here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice food and very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ate here several times during our week at the Royal Palm Beach Club. It is right on the beach and the food was very good. The servers work very hard here and switch off being bartenders too. The 2 for 1 drinks during Happy Hour went down easily. The bartenders are a bit more shy than other places we visited but were very prompt and attentive. The Philly steak sandwich was great as were the other sandwiches. There were several "locals" eating there too which is a tribute to the food and prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This Restaurant is behind The Royal Palm Beach and is situated overlooking the beach, but you can also see the Airport in the distance and you watch the planes take off and land. We ate here on three occasions and had a lovely meal on all of these. The Guava-berry ribs are delicious and all the sea food dishes plus steaks that are always cooked perfectly to you liking. After you have given your order you are given what is called a Johnny Cake, which is served hot with butter, they are yummy. you have to wait for your meal, but this I don't mind because it is all cooked fresh. Because the Restaurant is behind The Royal Palm is does sometimes get missed, but do try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This restaurant is located within the Diamond Resorts Complex of Royal Palm Beach Club and is mainly intended for use of the guests staying there, but you ang go there even if not resident

It does not have the largest menu you may have seen but the Chef(s) there do an excellent job and the food they do do is very good and reasonably priced (main meals or Snacks) So if you are staying in St Maarten I would advise that you give it a try

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The only negative about the Royal Palm is the service at the bar. We waited patiently while the bartenders (2 of them) talked on their phones and to each other before taking our orders. (we were the only ones sitting at the bar) This happened so many times that we gave up going to the bar and just bought beer at the store. I don't know for sure, but I think I remember hearing that this bar/ grill was not owned by the Royal Palm/ Diamond.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana Beach Bar and Restaurant Royal Palm also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Cabana Beach Bar and Restaurant Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Beach Bar and Restaurant Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.