We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Jerusalem

Little Jerusalem
27 Airport Rd, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
721 522 4747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Try it one time & I promise you come a second time. Look us up on Facebook for the full menu & don't forget to hit the like button LittleJerusalemsxmLittle Jerusalem
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Friendly owners, fantastic shwarmas at very reasonable prices. Ate there possibly 10 times through December and January and the service, food and overall experience was phenomanal. Don't be put off by your initial impression of the place, I think its a very good looking shipping container.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Guest Relations Manager at Little Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It is a shipping container.... lol,,,
Abe design it him self, he made it so customers can see him cooking there food.
His thought is you feel more better when you see how your food is prepare no Secret's and make sure its clean

Abe Loves what he does

Thank you so much for your time & consideration, travel advice and comments like yours keeps wonderful people like your self coming & experiencing our business & Island. It was an honor & delight to have pleased you

We look forward to all your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    39
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Pump, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really Amazing - don't miss this place. Going back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Friendly owners who love to enchant you with their delightful well prepared food. Going back for the Lamb Burger and Eggplant!! Had the lamb Shwoarma (sp?). Spices were fantastic. My husband loved the fallafel & hummus sandwich. I can't spell most of it but I could eat it everyday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Guest Relations Manager at Little Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
LOL neither can Abe he concentrates on making tasty foods

The Kabob in cream sauce is amazing

Glad you enjoyed

Thank you so much for your time & consideration, travel advice and comments like yours keeps wonderful people like your self coming & experiencing our business & Island. It was an honor & delight to have pleased you

We look forward to all your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really? This little place is THIS good??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was super skeptical about eating here...at home (Michigan), there is no way. However, after a local recommendation we stopped in to try the falafel. It was PHENOMENAL. And the experience was great...the owner cooks it himself and is so very friendly. My husband doesn't venture out much in the food category so he didn't order anything. The owner brought over a little sample plate for him to try and said he knew he would love it if he tried it. And he did! Great times!! Oh...best part of it is that it is VERY affordable!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Guest Relations Manager at Little Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you
Abe said great food should not cost, it should only taste good.

his Philosophy is If good food taste good & cost plenty how will every one find Great food

Thank you so much for your time & consideration, travel advice and comments like yours keeps wonderful people like your self coming & experiencing our business & Island. It was an honor & delight to have pleased you

We look forward to all your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret on SXM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A little roadside "hole in the wall" in Simpson Bay that serves gourmet quality shawarma at great prices. Abraham, the owner, prepares everything himself. I think it's not possible to make shawarma dishes that taste better than this. Every time we go there, we say "Oh my god" after every bite.
Nothing fancy here ... just some of the best food we've ever eaten anywhere. I almost hate to share a review with you, because I don't want you standing at the counter some day between me and that shawarma!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Guest Relations Manager at Little Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Well The cats out the bag but thank you

Thank you so much for your time & consideration, travel advice and comments like yours keeps wonderful people like your self coming & experiencing our business & Island. It was an honor & delight to have pleased you

We look forward to all your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
2 reviews
“Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend ate there with a few local people and I was very skeptical at first but once i tasted the shoarma I was in Heaven. The taste was out of this world and the owner was by far one of the friendliest people we met. Would definately go back there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Guest Relations Manager at Little Jerusalem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Abe has a 'Nac' for changing people minds, like all great chefs he loves to feed people, to see there faces’ enjoying his meal is what makes his day.

Thank you so much for your time & consideration, travel advice and comments like yours keeps wonderful people like your self coming & experiencing our business & Island. It was an honor & delight to have pleased you

We look forward to all your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Jerusalem also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Little Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.