We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel

Carousel
Welfare Road 60a, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is one of my favorite stops after a nice dinner. Their gelato is some of the best I have ever had.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like gelato, you must come here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Carousel is a fun place with outstanding gelato. We have come here several times each vacation for several years since it opened. In addition to the great gelato, the facility is a work of art that should be seen and appreciated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I didn't expect to find such a gem on a Caribbean island. The ice cream was fresh and the staff were friendly. Go and check this out!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Love the Carousel! Too many flavors of ice cream to choose from! Have never tried anything else…it's usually an after dinner stop for us. The decor is amazing…..so interesting. Make sure you look at all the pictures on the outside. Ice cream is delicious!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We discovered the carousel on our visit two years ago. My daughter and husband would go there almost every night. Last year we also went quite frequently (again, almost nightly)and brought another couple and 3 more friends who were visiting. Everyone loved it! This year,with the same couple, the consensus has been that the portion is smaller and not as flavorful as in the past. My cherry gelato was almost completely vanilla with one cherry and no cherry flavor. The place is lovely and the. Servers very nice. The owners ? I assume they are, stand around like overseers and interact not at all with the customers. THey seem more intend on keeping track on what's in the tip jar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Carousel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.