We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for Ice Cream Lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel

Carousel
Welfare Road 60a, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Heaven for Ice Cream Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you love ice cream, this is the place for you. A great variety of flavors and every one I sampled just made it harder to decide which ones to chose. I'll just have to go back and try them all again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a great spot in Simpson's Bay for gelato and/or ice cream. The quality of the food is very high and the variety of flavours is really impressive. Highly recommended for an afternoon treat or an after dinner dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This a great place to top off a day at the beach, an excursion or after dinner. There are probably 40 different gelato flavors at any given time. You can even sample a couple before you decide. My husband loves the chocolate. Friends that were with us loved the tiaramisu and cherry. My daughter favored the after eight. The wait staff is very pleasant. We like to tip them, but recently learned the owner takes the tips and takes out for taxes ( a practice I was told is not the norm for this island)and then splits the tips so you may want to rethink tipping here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, delicious gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The Carousel has many flavors of delicious gelato. You can sample two before you buy. I had the Carousel, with chocolate and hazelnut, and my wife had grapefruit with fresh mint. They also have a functional carousel ride for $2. The bathrooms are immaculate. Enjoyed our time here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Visited Carousel during a recent visit to St. Martin. In fact, visited 3 times during our week there. The gelato is so creamy and the variety of flavors seems endless! The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Carousel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.