We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good...not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant

Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant
46 Airport Rd | Portofino Marina, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 5817697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 88 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
OH-IO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good...not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Barnacles has a pleasant location behindGourmetMarche neaqr the airport curvfe. Youare on the lagoon and canh see the yachts. The placeis fun, the serversare fun, the food is good. However 40 minutes wait for a couple gyros is excdessive. Then they really weren't gyros (just strips of meat cookedon the grill and thrown on some pita and covered in tzatziki) but they were tasty. A greek salad ofonly tomatoes was a surprise as well. Good stop if y7ou have loads of time and are looking for a fun pub experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food and Barbecue Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located on Simpson bay lagoon and very popular with cruisers. The menu is limited but what is avaiable is exceptionally well prepared. Friday is BQ rib night. The ribs are prepared days in advance and often sell out. Arrive early. The Greek items on the menu daily are excellent. This is a very friendly place where families, tourists, & cruisers mix. The owners are great as is the rest of the staff. They provide great food & drink plus outstanding service in a waterfront, nautical atmosphere. They do this at very reasonable prices. You are only a stranger here when you arrive for your 1st visit. They have just begun to have Sunday steak night. Can't wait to try it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, St. Martin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went to Barnacles for lunch with two coworkers. One of them had been there before and said the food was delicious, but the service took forever. She wanted to give it another try.

This time around, it took 50 minutes for our three orders to come out. Besides the people drinking at the bar, we were the only ones there. My lamb gyro was delicious, however my fries were undercooked.

It was a disappointing experience because again, my gyro was really tasty and I'd love to have it again, but I am not willing to wait almost an hour to eat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wiscosnin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Condo neighbors raved about Barnacles, so we stopped in for lunch. Only about 4 people there. It took 45 minutes to get our food. The green salad was very good. The calamari undercooked and came with no sauce. The fries were cold. Indifferent waitress.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, reasonable priced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Tried this bar last year and was very impressed. Good Greek food and friendly bar staff. Owner happened to be from the same area in Pa. as us, so we had a lot to talk about. We event wrote a message on their wall. Definitely a must try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacles Greek Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.