We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dessert, but no wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Gelateria and Bar

Carousel Gelateria and Bar
60 Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Simpson Bay
Attraction details
New York city
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great dessert, but no wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Nice, bright, clean and lots of great ice cream flavors. Service is nice and there is a big carousel in the back that kids can ride for $2 a piece. Only recommendation is that they offer wi-fi since all the other bakeries do.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

So many flavors to chose from, all the ones we sampled were delicious. It was hard to choose which to eat. Bright and playful, my fiance and I felt like little kids!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

we were walking by after dinner and stopped in carousel beautiful but not running when we were there.
the prices for the ice cream on better than our prices at home.
many many favorites to choose from
very nice atmosphere

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Carousel is amazing - from area near Venice, Italy - and beautiful. The gelato is better than any we had in Italy or the US. Many flavors to choose from and all made with machinery imported from Italy. We visited 4 times in our two week stay.

The buildings architecture is special - all the stone and marble, floors and features are imported from Europe. The photos that circle the outside wall are fun to see! Old photos of ice cream lovers from all over the world and include photos of famous people enjoying their special treats.

There is ample parking and the view of Cole Bay from the back is lovely as well. Open 7 days a week! I would highly recommed it for young and old!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saba
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“GO! GO! GO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

wear something warm because the airco there is freezing, that is, i guess if you are a local (at least used to this Caribbean heat!) BUT: The icecream is delicious, more than delicious, I want to eat it every day! The staff is not always very friendly, that is something they need to work on..... If you are being helped by an, i guess Italian woman or man, they are super friendly! It is a beautiful spot, very clean, the toilettes are super clean! And go with your kids, they will have a blast, first a ride in the beautiful Carousel and after that a delicious icecream! I went with friends with kids once and they just LOVED it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel Gelateria and Bar also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Carousel Gelateria and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Gelateria and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.