We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Steak & Lobster

Rancho Steak & Lobster
Palapa Village, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
1-721-545-2495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 72 restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Argentinean, Caribbean, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband took me here for our anniversary dinner and It was amazing. We got there early and were the only ones there at first. Right on the bay, cool breeze blowing, the decor was stunning as well as comfortable. Romantic music playing. The service was excellent. The food was a culinary masterpiece. I had the lobster fettuccine and he had the Caribbean ribs. Both were superb. I highly encourage you to try Ranchos. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    43
    34
    13
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rancho is going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Rancho has been one of our favorite restaurants in St. Maarten for almost 20 years. We have loved everything about it. May, 2013, however, was a different story.

The crock of garlic butter for our bread (and potato) is gone, which was a disappointing start.

The steaks were a disappointing end. Four people had steaks that were, tough, fatty, and pretty much void of flavor. Not a good thing for a "steak house." When all four of us complained, we were told that they have a new chef. I recommended they get the old one back.

Because we've always loved Rancho, I would like to go back and give them another chance, but my wife may nix that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is simply amazing. I assisted to the gypsy thursday show and it was fantastic. There were 2 belly dancers and 1 professional male dancer. The show was great. The staff, the service, the food. Everything was just wonderful! It was the most fun I have had in a while. Great food plus entertainment under one roof.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food and Fun!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Rancho's Moijto Lounge offers a relaxing environment and good drinks. The menu offers many tasty selections, whether you're in the mood for Italian, Mexican, Seafood, Steak, etc. Managers and staff work to ensure that your experience is pleasurable. Enjoy the live entertainment and smooth music sounds while you dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hmmm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is delicious! We were trying to go to Tequilas (upstairs) but it seems to never be open. Sometimes they offer the Tequilas menu but not this time. My boyfriend and I shared one of the meat platters for two, it was fabulous!!! We also got fresh fried calamari...sooo yummy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Steak & Lobster also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Rancho Steak & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Steak & Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.