We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Steak & Lobster

Rancho Steak & Lobster
Palapa Village, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
1-721-545-2495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 86 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Caribbean, Seafood, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Rancho is an Argentine steak house that shares their roof with a tex mex restaurant Tequila. You can order from either menu. We've eaten at Rancho several times. This visit I ordered from the tex mex menu and my wife from the Rancho menu. We were both happy with our meals. Service was just OK. Prices are moderate. It is a great space with crazy high cathedral ceiling/roof. The night we were there a Latin singer performed. She was a great addition. Being on the lagoon also helps the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    48
    22
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Average review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I guess I am repeating other comment by calling them average. Food was middle of the road, wine was below par, pricey but acceptable, service ok, atmosphere was ok but we had a nice dockside vie of the yachts. This is our first visit in 20 some trips to SXM so I cannot poo-poo tha for offseason service.

Steaks were good, potato was good, spinach was excellent, cream brûlée was average. Wine was affordable but marginal taste. Easy Thursday night parking. An Average outing overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great dining experience in SXM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the minute we walked in, greeted with smiles, music and fantastic service. Then our food arrived, Filet and Mahi Mahi, presentation and taste were spot on. They even cooked my steak perfect. Thanks you for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Always a fun experience! I've been here a few times and with the amazing steaks, great live entertainment and friendly service, you can't go wrong!! If you're in St. Maarten, go!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannestad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good, and a nice menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This a great place on the dock, overlooking all the great yachts in the lagoon.
The food is steak, lobster, and Mexican.
All of wich are great portions, great tasting, and very good atmosphere.
Want a great Argentinian steak, this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Steak & Lobster also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Rancho Steak & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Steak & Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.