We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Alexander's Kitchen. Garlic Shrimp plate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexanders Kitchen

Alexanders Kitchen
Bill Folly Road, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 72 restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Macclenny, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lunch at Alexander's Kitchen. Garlic Shrimp plate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I visited Alexanders for Monday lunch. They really don't start lunch until 1:30PM so I had a cerveza while I waited. I was also caught off guard by the entry to the place. Up a flight of exterior stairs and right smack into their kitchen.
Ate on their covered porch and enjoyed the meal. $12 for garlic shrimp entree that came with a salad which was of a variety of pretty veggies including avocado; and also rice/beans side dish. The shrimp was delicately seasoned in garlic and there was plenty of it, especially considering it was lunch, not dinner.
View is pleasant, a glimpse of bay lowards airport, other resorts close by.
CASH ONLY.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    32
    22
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Alexanders Restaurant, Pelican Beach, Simpson Bay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had looked at several restaurants in the area, perusing their menus and price lists before visiting this one, which in fact was also recommended by a friend who visits Simpson Bay regularly. We were a bit put off at first by having to climb an outside staircase and then walk through the kitchen before taking our seats at a table on the balcony. However this was more than compensated for by the friendly service and big smiles of the waitress and the cook.You do also get to enjoy the music of the singer in the restaurant downstairs, so that is a bonus! This though is not fine dining, it is a no frills establishment. Don't expect a tablecloth and a posh wine list. Food is cooked to order so you just have to wait for it as you would at home! There is no air con, in fact there are no windows either! A few things were not available as they had sold out of them. Well it is only a small restaurant and food is cooked freshly daily. However, it was well priced, there was plenty of it, it was good quality food, we thoroughly enjoyed it and it made our evening. We had garlic shrimps and barbecued ribs which were supplied with all the trimmings and were mouth wateringly delicious. It was so good that we returned another evening and had another equally good meal. It is closed on Sundays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Secret Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is awesome..it is hidden above the Bon appetit restaurant at the simpson bay resort. The food is delicious, alot of local food and the prices are cheap...The ribs fall off the bone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Situated on a corner in the middle of Simpson Bay Beach Club, Pelican Beach Resort and the Flamingo Beach Resort - its an outdoor restaurant with a very diverse menu ranging from seafood over pasta to chicken cordon-bleu. The quality of the food is very good and tastefully prepared - the prices are right around $20.00 a plate - great tropical drinks - good service!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

If you are on a budget and want to eat out this is definatly the place. Ate dinner , some menus items were not available . Food was very good , portions were nice size. 2 appetizers , 2 entrees ( rib& chicken combo, oxtail stew) 4 glasses of wine came to $50. Will probably try breakfast or lunch , nice little hole in the wall place, don't set your expectations to high, definatly not gourmet food just good old down island home cooking!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexanders Kitchen also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Alexanders Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexanders Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.