We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tinned tomato soup sauce” 2 of 5 stars
Review of IZI Ristorante Italiano

IZI Ristorante Italiano
Paradise Mall, Welfare Road #67, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
011721-5443079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 85 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bath
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tinned tomato soup sauce”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate at Izzi during a 2 week visit to St Martin in March. The food was very poor! The tomatoes in the capresse were a cheap tasteless variety, not the lovely fresh vine flavoured tomatoes, or plum ones we are used to. Poor quality mozarella I would question it being Buffalo mozarella. My Pollo Marsala was lacking in a key ingredient the Marsala wine, the Alfredo Sauce on the pasta not even cooked through properly, so it had a floury powdered texture. My husbands tomato sauce on his pasta was definately not freshly made, it tasted just like a tin of tomato soup stirred in with some tasteless sausage. I agree with other reviews that the staff were very fake and the service button gadget just a gimmick. Very, very disappointing after seeing previous excellent reviews. Needless to say we didn't eat there again. Don't bother unless they get their act together and employ a decent Italian Chef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IZISXM, Guest Relations Manager at IZI Ristorante Italiano, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Customer,
let me apologize for the bad experience that you had at IZI, is too bad that you did not let us know your feedback the night of your visit as we would have made it right, no matter what.
I just wanted to clarify that every of our sauce, as many other preparation offered on our menu, are made fresh on the premises on a daily basis, specially our best selling "Pomodoro" tomato sauce; we also chose to blend the sauce fully as many customers don't like it chunky as you may do.
We strive to offer an excellent service ant that is the only purpose of the paging device on every table; on that same matter i would appreciate a clarification of your comment "the service was very fake" to investigate the matter further.
In any case you are invited to visit our kitchen at any time and assist at our daily preparation of fresh Italian food.
Please contact us at your convenience izisxm(at)gmail.com

Best regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    139
    52
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italian like in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant is deceiving from the outside, but wander in and you will be glad you did. Great food and service, even offer 2 varieties of gluten free pasta, which was cooked perfectly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The food, portions and waitstaff were very good. We will be trying it again when we return to Sint Maarten!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leetsdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved this restaurant in March 2012 but had 2 bad experiences at Izi in March 2013. During the first visit my pasta dish was swimming in a sea of olive oil, it looked like a bowl of soup. I asked the waiter to remove the pasta and put it in a new bowl but when the dish was returned to me it still looked like a bowl of soup. My entree was removed from the bill which was appropriate. On the second visit my husband bit into a hard piece of clear plastic that was approximately 3/4 of an inch in length when he was eating his salad. We were told by Davide that the piece of plastic had broken off the salad container in the kitchen. We finished our meals, they were ok but not outstanding, and we were handed the bill. Nothing was adjusted on the bill and we were not offered anything for the plastic in the salad. On the way out of the restaurant the owner asked my husband if the bill had been adjusted, when my husband said no Davide handed him a $20 bill. I don't know if we will go back to this restaurant as there are much better Italian restaurants on the island and this restaurant is pricey for what you get. Very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faux Italian”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are both from Italy and everything about this restaurant is as fake as the cans the food is served from. Horrible waiters and waitresses and the heavily faux accented Italian waiter is arrogant and pushy. The mussels were bland and the lamb looked like someone threw up on our plate. Bland and nothing authentic about this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IZI Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to IZI Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IZI Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.