We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faux Italian” 1 of 5 stars
Review of IZI Ristorante Italiano

IZI Ristorante Italiano
Paradise Mall, Welfare Road #67, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
011721-5443079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faux Italian”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are both from Italy and everything about this restaurant is as fake as the cans the food is served from. Horrible waiters and waitresses and the heavily faux accented Italian waiter is arrogant and pushy. The mussels were bland and the lamb looked like someone threw up on our plate. Bland and nothing authentic about this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    116
    45
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The thing about Izi is that it's a hit or miss place depending on the night you decide to go. Their food is not always consistently good and their wait staff need training. In the 3 hours we spent there for dinner we counted 6 incidents where plates, glasses or utensils were dropped. The first time I ate there I had the salmon lasagna and it was soggy and oily. There was nothing good about it. The second time I went I faired a little better. The appetizer of lobster bisque was fantastic but the main course was not up to par. I ordered veal with risotto. The veal was spread out on top of the risotto in such a uninvited manner that I felt like I was at a late diner. The veal although delicious, was not complimented well by the bland and soggy risotto. The saffron was overused and the risotto looked like yellow goo and had no taste. Pity. For the price we paid I would have to say that overall, it was not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Izi is a great Italian restaurant. The pasta is fresh, the sauces are wonderful and there is also gluten free options. The service is impeccable and Marco makes sure that everyone feels welcome. David has done it again with a restaurant to visit over and over again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livorno
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pasta on SXM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Real delicious home made italian pasta .Good service in a clean place. We spent our vacation often in SXM and each time we visit this restaurant when we like to eat pasta as @ home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Busy but food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I liked the food but the place was almost overfull. Kind of noisy which took away a bit from the good food and kind of wrecked the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IZI Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to IZI Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IZI Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.