We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IZI Ristorante Italiano

IZI Ristorante Italiano
Paradise Mall, Welfare Road #67, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
011721-5443079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 71 restaurants in Simpson Bay
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Eldred, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great owner Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two important factors of a great restaurant is of course the food and the other management. I have been to IZI many times and it never disappoints. So many things to recommend on the menu but my two favorites are pasta bolognese and chicken parmesan. The service is top notch and reason for that is that the owner Davide makes sure that everyone has a great dining experience. Davide was the owner of La Gondola, the best, and when he left, I was so down. Now IZI is his place and everything going forward wiil be top notch. Make sure you visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    304
    101
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went there around 7:30PM on a Monday but were not accommodated for they were full, we did not have a reservation. The matre d' asked if we could come back the next day. The next day we came back, were seated right away around 6:30PM. My salmon carpaccio was very very delicious, moist and has a lemony emulsion in it, my eggplant Parmesan was good but nothing special. My husband was not that hungry so he ordered, bruschetta and he liked that. His beef carpaccio was very thinly sliced and was good but missing little salad on top. Our tiramisu was very good, cappuccino was warm not hot. I like my cappucino hot! The matre d' recognized us ( previous night, no table), he offered two lemoncillo shots. Good gesture. We would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Over two years time, we have now eaten at IZI 5 times, and it has always been an excellent experience. Davide, the owner, keeps an active eye over the restaurant, greeting guests and making certain that staff is on top of things - almost to an extreme with the latest addition, this year, to a 'call button' on each table to get the wait staff's attention. All the choices are good, our current favorites being the Seafood Amore, mahi-mahi, and the salmon over spinach.Great place for a special occasion, like a birthday or anniversary. Just tell the staff, and sit back at dessert time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had our New Years Dinner there, fabulous food and Marco is not only a great waiter he is so funny. Homemade pasta is delicious

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“izi pronounced "easy" and it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Waiter takes your order on an electronic tablet for starters. Later you notice a mouse shaped thing on the table with "service", "bread" and "check" on it. You punch the button you want and in 30 seconds the waitperson appears with your bread or your check, I kid you not.
The food is Italian, pick your pasta, your sauce etc. plus a fabulous dessert called praline almond ice cream that was sensational.
We ate there twice it was so good, in an 8 day stay. It's near Simpson bay where beautiful yachts are anchored with adds to the ambience, of course. You will love it, most of the people eating there are Americans who are regulars whether living there or have time shares or are visiting a resort. Must visit to a great island. Bob Ross

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IZI Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten

Been to IZI Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IZI Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.