We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed the Greenhouse Restaurant at Simpson Bay, St. Maarten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Billy Folly Rd | next to the Atrium Resort, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
1-721-544-4173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed the Greenhouse Restaurant at Simpson Bay, St. Maarten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We ate at the Greenhouse Restaurant several times during our 2 week trip to St. Maarten in October 2013. We stayed at nearby Simpson Bay Resort. It was our favorite restaurant of the trip. We also enjoyed it several times during our trip to St. Maarten in October of 2012. We have never eaten at the Greenhouse Restaurant that is in Phillipsburg.
We enjoyed all the food that we had at this restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the Bang Bang Shrimp, especially on Wednesdays when it was only $6 all day, rather than the regular price of $10.95. We also enjoyed the French Onion Soup, Calamari, Golden Fried Shrimp, and Lobster. Happy Hour during the October low season, started at 11:00AM and the drinks were 2 for 1. The only disadvantage to that was that the drinks were delivered at one time & not one after the other. My wife got 2 classes of wine. I got either 2 glasses of draft Heineken beer or a pint glass for the price of a half pint.
We drank only draft beer and wine except for one visit when we had bloody marys. They were quite good. We like very spicy bloody marys with salt on the rim of the glass & one or two olives in the drink.
The service was always attentive & our waitress was always friendly & helpful. There was a beautiful view of the beach and Simpson Bay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    167
    49
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great services and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I always stop into The Green House for lunch while on a shopping excursion to Phillipsberg. The wait staff and bartenders are always very attentive and friendly. Service is great--lots of smiles, great atmosphere. I love the Black Bean Soup and the spicy shrimp wrap. Have tried the salad with fried goat cheese and love that too. Also a great place to go for happy hour--wonderful drinks !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Food just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was close to Simpson bay resort. I ordered the lobster and it was overcooked and dry. The grouper was delicious. Happy Hour is until 7pm 2 for 1 drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The service was friendly. Restaurant walking distance from the Resort. Good selection of Appetizer and Entree. The Price was reasonable. We had dinner her few nights. Great place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant is within walking distance from Simpson Bay Resort, and next door to Buccaneer's. It's outside or covered dining, so make sure you sit by a fan, as it can get pretty toasty.

They have 2/1 frozen drinks for happy hours, and the Bushwacker drink is yummy. We ate there several times, and the food is decent. They do take credit cards.

Be warned: whether you got to Buccaneers or The Greenhouse, there are beach dogs that hang out within sight. They are not threatening at all; as a dog lover, it just makes me sad to see abandoned animals.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.