We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentino Italian Bistro

Valentino Italian Bistro
Simpson Bay Yacht Club, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
0115995443405
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 78 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We heard about Valentino's from our hotel owner and decided to give it a try. As we entered there was a table of six people who told us to try the lasagna. After having dried out lasagna at Izy's I ordered the lasagna so I could compare. There was absolutely no comparison! Valentino's lasagna is absolutely delicious. We went to eat there 3 times out of the 12 days we were in St. Maarten. All 3 times we had wonderful meals. Ricardo, the owner, is reserved but efficient and really cares about his restaurant. Our last day in St. Maarten we told him we would be back for dinner and he told my husband to try the mussels. Delicious and there were a lot of them! The restaurant is in the Simpson Bay Yacht Club and is small so it's not usually crowded, except our last day when it was totally full. Go to Valentino's to eat - it's wonderful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I like this place for 2 things,theh
e food is excellent,eggplantparm is my favoritem wine selection aswell...
I ve bee there twice,my friends were very happy to discover that place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Harbor, NY
2 reviews
“Valentino's Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Valentino's is a must go to in St. Maarten. Ricardo and Linda are gracious and welcoming hosts who, with their new chef, serve wonderful classic Italian meals. I have gone there twice a week every trip to ST M and those trips are three times a year for the past 6 years.

The menu is somewhat small, but the selection and taste keep me coming back for more. This year, four visits to date, I've had: spaghetti w/ porcini mushrooms and spinach, linguini w/ seafood, chicken parmigiano w/ spaghetti, and off the menu, pasta w/ garlic and oil extra spicy! And, I always have a glass or two of good house wine, bread and occasionally an appetizer.
If you don't see a favorite of yours just ask and if the ingredients are there: no problem.

The restaurant is small and usually there's music/video playing among the 100+ photos of movie stars(Rudolph Valentino-get it?). Yes, it is slightly difficult to find, but it is in a busy and safe location. It can be empty during low season, but you will still get what you pay for and more.
Last visited March 5, 2013

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best italian meal in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Since I am of Italian descent, I find it difficult to find an Italian restaurant that makes food to my liking. This one is definitely on the list, which is rather short! We both had pasta with a bolognese sauce, perhaps the best I've tasted in a restaurant. The waiter was very attentive and the owner made sure that we were comfortable and happy with everything. This is definitely a restaurant that we would recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were handed a coupon on the beach for a free glass of wine, so we decided to take our friends. The owner was our waiter. Not very pleasant! So we all ordered and were waiting for our wine. When the wine arrived it was very insulting!! It was a drip! So we thought it was free so who cares.Then the food came and the pasta was such a small portion for the price that we were hungry when we left.That will be out last trip to Valentino's!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino Italian Bistro also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Cole Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Valentino Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentino Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.