We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food and Friendliest Place on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vesna Taverna

Vesna Taverna
Airport Road #9 Palapa Marina | St Maarten, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 5245283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New Jerssey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Friendliest Place on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. It is in Simpson Bay in the shopping center next to the McDonald's. We went there on a Thursday night and had the Chicken Normandy. It was excellent. They gave you two sides and it was only $13.50. We also had their soup and a nutrella banana crepe which was to die for. The waitress was actually the owner that night, Vesna. She was so friendly and made you feel like you were truly appreciated. We liked it so much, we went back on Friday night and I had the Garlic Shrimp and my sister had the seafood platter. We brought two of our friends who were staying here and they were equally impressed. We had a waitress who was very efficient and a lovely girl. Vesna came over and was talking with us and the table couldn't believe how friendly she was. Her husband who is the French chef came out and talked to us as well. After dinner we ordered the creme burlee, the crepes and chocolate mousse. It was delicious. After dinner, Vesna brings out a container full of rum with shot glasses. Her husband makes the banana rum. It was delicious. She leaves it on the table and lets you have as much as you want.
I would definitely recommend you go to this place. You won't be sorry. It's one of the few places on the island that is reasonable and doesn't try to rip you off for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    42
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fresh baked bagels daily and friendly service. Located on the main road in Simpson Bay, it is very convenient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistenly excellent food, and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed in Oyster Bay with friends who took us here for breakfast. The Viva Espana Bagel, is wonderful!! We went back another day and I had the french breakfase which was equally excellent. Then on our last day we stopped for lunch because we knew we had a long flight with no meal service. My husband and I both had bacon blue cheeseburgers with french fries. They were EXCELLENT!! The burger was delicious and I can't tell you how many french fries I have thrown away over the years in different places but even Vesna Tavernas fries were great. Excellent food, wonderful service, and the folks that work there really make you feel welcome. Thank you Vesna Taverna for making our stay even better!! Warmest Regards Ed and Ann from Pa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Sorry, but it was just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Three of us had dinner there last night. My buddy had the Chicken Normandy was said it was outstanding. That was the good news. I had the Grouper, it was over cooked, veggies were barely warm, but cooked properly. The Burger was nothing special either. The shock was after we were done eating and she wanted to know what we though of the meals. I mentioned that the grouper was over cooked and she told me it was MY FAULT. She recommended that i ordered it cooked in the Creole sauce and i chose to get the sauce on the side. Therefore it was my fault?????She did bring us two small chocolate brulee at no charge.

Prices were very reasonable. Would i go back? Not likely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Prices and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Towards the end of our stay we finally found Vesna in Simpson Bay, it was walking distance from Simpson Bay Resort. Don't let the small store front fool you, the friendly staff and owner make up for it! We stopped for lunch and the wraps (Shrimp and Seafood Caesar) were absolutely delicious! You better save room for dessert, homemade crepes (tons to choose from) by the owner as well as Chocolate Creme Brulee by the owner's husband! Prices were definitely reasonable! Owner was very friendly and chatted with us for a good amount of time! To top it all off, before we left, she gave us tastes of their homemade Rum, which you can buy if there is any left to purchase! Yum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesna Taverna also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Vesna Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesna Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.