We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fusion Restaurant

Fusion Restaurant
#71 Welfare Rd, Paradise Mall, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
1 721 553 4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 71 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Indian, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
RHODE ISLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

went on wed to find out they are closed. we should of called first.
went thurs nite. excellent food wish we had gone sooner. we had to leave on sat am.
we also meet the owner because someone at the resort mentioned fusion and owner went to culinary school in rhode island which is where we came from.
very pleasant lady. we wish her well.
if back in st marten will we will back and maybe more than once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    60
    14
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ate there three times on our stay here. Best food and best chef here. She came out and talked with us and met our needs. Everyone loved their food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The entire dining experience at Fusion is above and beyond anything else on the island. The ambiance, the people, and the food combine for an unparalleled dining experience. The lamb is outrageously good. The ahi tuna and curry snapper are up there as well. The filet is top tier and as high quality as one may expect. Love this place and will never forget the great food and memories dining at Fusion!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Misleading way of presenting the service charge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food and service were very good. So why not four stars? The reason relates to their service charge. Many places on St Maarten have a service charge—I understand why and don’t have a problem with that. The issue I had with Fusion is that it appeared as “tax” on the bill. For those of us who are used to meals/sales taxes added on to a bill and who might not know they don’t tax meals this way in St Maarten, it would be easy to add another 15-20% on top of the 15% you are already being charged. When I went back and looked at the menu on-line, it did say at the bottom that a service charge is added, but when trying to decide what to order, you aren’t usually focusing on that. And it would still require making the connection that the thing called “tax” is really the service charge. I thought it was a very misleading way of doing the service charge, to the point of being unethical. I would not go back because of this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A cut above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Last night was our third trip to Fusion this week and each meal was a culinary delight for both of us: from truly outstanding lamb chops with wasabi mashed potatoes, an Asian inspired duck that was perhaps the best I have ever had (have tried it all over the world), Thai inspired snapper with jasmine rice, truly wonderful salads, and simply gorgeous and very tasty desserts. Anuska, the chef/owner, has mastered fusing together far eastern flavors with the Caribbean Sea and presenting each dish very beautifully - truly a cut above!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Fusion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.