We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Simpson Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was expecting a hassle upon check-in due to other reviews, but we had no problem at all. It was quick, the desk staff was very friendly, and we got a shuttle ride to our room, which was in the Croton building. We didn't have much of a view since the villas were right in front of us, but we're from Miami. We get beautiful views all the time so it didn't bother us much. The building was quiet, but quite a hilly walk from the lobby/beach. We were ok with it, but for someone with difficulty walking, this unit would not be a good choice. Our studio was clean, nicely decorated, and had everything we needed. One night, we went to use the corkscrew and found that it was broken. A call to the front desk had our new one within 10 minutes. We also had to call maintenance one day b/c the toilet kept running/filling. They were supposed to come by during the day to fix it. When we returned that evening, it seemed ok for awhile, then went back to non-stop filling. We were leaving the next day so it wasn't a big deal.
One tip - it's pretty buggy outside. Bring matches and a citronella candle if you like to use the balcony.
The gym was beautiful and had almost any machine you would want. The pool in front of the villas was very nice, and we enjoyed lunch and drinks at the pool bar. The bartender was very friendly.
We rented a car for the 2nd half of our trip, which made getting to our unit much easier. I highly recommend renting a car as it seems to be the best way to get around this island. Otherwise, use the local bus (only $1.50 - much better than taxi prices!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    155
    87
    34
    10
See reviews for
103
188
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved the location of this resort. It was close to many restaurants and several excellent beaches. There are several places to eat, a piano bar, and a bakery. We felt safer knowing there were several manned gates throughout the whole resort. We didn't use any of the facilities or restaurants but they looked nice. The resort is lot larger than expected. I could see where you wouldn't need to leave unless you wanted to. I don't know if we stayed in the renovated section. I hope it wasn't because it seemed alittle dated. We were in the B-building. The 1 bd room was spacious, had a comfy king bed, excellent view of the ocean from the balcony, and stocked kitchen.

We rented a car and found parking to be easy. I would def recommend renting a car to go all over the island. Pelican Beach and Kim-Sha Beach are in walking distance. Both had no waves, white sand, and clear blue water. Don't bother going to the supermarket by the Burger King. It is more expensive than the one by Maho and didn't offer as big of selection.

The front desk offered good customer service. We had a few hiccups and the staff acted appropriately to assist us. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Stay in a building up on the hill so you can look out over the ocean. Building B on 3rd/4th floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We came to Simpson Bay by trading our timeshare. It's a large place spread over a hilly area near the ocean. Everyone at the resort was very pleasant and helpful and we did need them. Our first room was in the un-renovated section - it was small and dark, had no view and it smelled mildewy. We immediately went to the front desk and after perhaps too long a wait we got a new room and several apologies. Although still in the old section we got a one bedroom that overlooked the ocean, was clean and did not smell!
Simpson Bay is great because there are restaurants and stores on sight and it's an easy walk to the main street. The beach is lovely and the scenery beautiful. It's only a few minutes from the airport (you can watch the planes land and take off) but that didn't bother us.
The bartender at the resort makes an amazing mud slide!
Despite our concerns we agreed to sit through the timeshare presentation (afterwards they give you $75 to spend at the resort, including Bon Appetit - delicious food). As promised, the presentation was great!!! No pressure at all. (I have sat through some and almost cried because they wouldn't let us leave!!!)
The resort expects to be fully renovated by 2015 AND reportedly they are being rebranded as a Hard Rock resort.

Room Tip: Ask to have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fairly typical time-share resort where you are renting someone's condo (or add-on "lockout" spare bedroom/studio). Staff varies in attentiveness and helpfulness. Bar staff was pleasant but distracted; posted opening times for bars & restaurants seemed more advisory than actual. Most rooms are up steep hill, and some are near bunker-like, with a depressed garden entrance (only window) that seems more like a basement than a resort. Rooms were clean, but awkwardly furnished, with nightstands and lamps that blocked bathroom doorway.

Real drawback is having to use a resort shuttle (tips, please) to get to and from the front desk, which is where the taxi pickup/dropoff is--enforced by a manned security gate. If you have your own car, it's better, but still, some rooms are a healthy walk from parking.

Room Tip: Main building would be best (avoids shuttle), but it's only 2 bedroom suites and up....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Beautiful island and people. Beautiful resort. Resturant on site was my personnel favorite. Beach on site clean sandy and snorkeling on site. No need to leave the complex. Well worth the trip

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Granted the resort & suites are undergoing renovation (to be completed in 2015). Regardless, our suite was clean upon arrival, and we were pleased to receive a location overlooking one of the resort's beaches. There were several good restaurants and bars on the property, our favorite being Bon Appetit, which also opened at 7am for breakfast and fun conversation with the young man who worked there. Meals at The Stone were also quite delicious though a little higher in price. Many other restaurants were within easy walking distance, assuming you are comfortable walking up and down the hills of the resort, or taking a taxi or car if not comfortable with the walk.

The scuba facilities were great - particularly Demian, Soinet, and Junior - as were all the people at the Aqua Mania activities office. But our best dives were around the nearby island of Saba, despite the bumpy 3 hour roundtrip ferry there from St Maarten.

Considering this resort now belongs to the family of "Royal" resorts in Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, and Curacao - think Royal Caribbean, Royal Mayan, Royal Sands, et al - it would do well to adopt some of the standards seen at the other resorts, such as daily cleaning of the suite and the ability to charge everything purchased on the resort property via your room card.

I would definitely recommend this resort now, while expecting even higher ratings as the renovation continues. My only reasons for the "very good" versus an "excellent" rating are noted above.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

If you want the nicest room upgrade to the newer beach front . Sounds like the whole place will be renovated by 2015, but even with construction going on the noise was not a problem. You may want to pack a inflatable pool raft to float in the bay since there are almost no waves and the water is clear blue. It is a wonderful way to hang out in the ocean! A full day or half day snorkeling trip is a MUST! The boat crews are fun and they leave right from the pier at Simpson Bay. We usually rent a car which makes exploring the island and its fun and great food another added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simpson Bay Resort and Marina is ideally positioned on the beach, midway between the island's most popular night spots and shopping. Fine Restaurants abound to tempt your pallet, jewelry stores to browse through plus a car rental conveniently located in the lobby and an activity center makes it easy to plan excursions to dive/snorkel spots along with a variety of water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Maarten-St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.