We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll stay there again and again for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Simpson Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We'll stay there again and again for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Everyone reviewing here has covered it all , and all things considered , this resort has way too many amenities for the others to measure up to.. Things seem to improve year after year in leaps and bounds , and the efforts to make it top notch are very evident . It is a large resort with various scattered buildings and you should know where your accomodation is so that your expectations are not disappointed, but since we exchange timeshare to be there I cannot imagine paying over $200/night for a unit with a view of a dumpster/parking lot on an island where breathtaking scenery is everywhere! I am posting several pics from our most recent stay in the villas.. We adore the staff there for the most-part!! Looking forward to bringing the whole family there one day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    155
    87
    34
    10
See reviews for
103
187
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel was centrally located to the Dutch side of the island, many dining choices and transportation. Friendly staff and very well kept property. Stores right on the premises for grocery and souvenirs, casino, restaurants, and right on the beach. this hotel has a great view, day trips right at hotels, and fun filled activities each day.

Room Tip: try to get room on the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a great time in St. Maartin at Simpson Bay. The resort was not fancy, but very nice and clean. The resort has activities daily, and water sports on location. The location is good, there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. We worked out at the gym, there was a fee but it was very nice -great view of the marina while working out!... The pool and beach were very nice. The beach has chairs and umbrellas, there is someone to set it up for you. There is a deli across the street that has everything you need. You can get food at the beach restaurant and also at the pool.
Overall very nice place, I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the villas for 8 days and it was really, really great. Waking up to the sailboats in is a great way to live. The area around the resort is really nice and there are so many great restaurants in walking distance (both on and near the resort). We spent most of the time in the villas pool which kind of sucked because the entire pool, except the swim up bar, is 5 feet tall and so am I. The good thing is that there is access to the bay/ocean and it was so nice to just float in there. Overall the resort was really nice. Don't rely on the concierge. We made reservations through them for the Stone Restaurant which is right on the resort property (but not owned by the resort). When we got there, they knew nothing about our reservations and didn't have room for us.

There is a grocery store just in walking distance (which while quite expensive is still less than the small grocery store on the resort property). It's worth it to purchase items for breakfast and lunch along with alcohol to enjoy on your amazing balcony.

The rooms (we stayed in a master suite) was incredibly luxurious with a full kitchen, living room, very spacious bathroom/dressing area and bedroom. We were with a couple of other people and spent several afternoons eating lunch on someone's balcony with adult beverages!!!

We used the resort provided kyacks a couple of times to explore the bay and the lagoona under past the draw bridge.

Overall, it's an amazing place to stay right on the water with many amenities.

Room Tip: Stay in the villas! The remainder of the buildings on the property do not appear to be right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

WAY overrated. It was dark, dingy and falsely advertised! Fine for a $90/night hotel, but certainly not worth $200!!! Our terrace view was a parking lot and a bunch of cargo containers! And we were traveling with three other couples who experienced the exact same situation - thought they were getting a nice "resort" room and got a dump. Horrible, but we stuck it out as it was for one night only before visiting other islands. Later in the week, we stayed at Captian Oliver's and loved it! Not super fancy, but awesome location, great vibe, bright rooms with either balconies or patios overlooking the ocean or marina. Fun place!

Room Tip: Go to a different resort/hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo O, Online Community Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read that you felt that way about your unit; an upgrade to a different unit is always possible, you just need to pay the upgrade fee. We tried contacting you to request more info about your stay but unfortunately we never heard back from you.

Warm regards from sunny St Maarten,

Camilo Olea
Online Community Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just got back and had a very nice stay here. Part of the time share is being renovated but we stayed in the older part which once done will be wonderful. Pools and beach are clean. Very positive experience. Things are a lot slower on the island but as long as you prepare yourself for this it was a great place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our second visit (the previous one was about 6 years ago) and we were very pleased (with one exception - covered later). Located in Simpson Bay, it does not have a terrific beach like on the French side, however, it is 5 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of many restaurants, supermarket and marina. Our room was very nice, spotless and with a very comfortable bed and a nice kitchen. From our balcony we saw some of the most spectacular sunsets ever. Also, we feel very safe in this resort and the staff is very attentive.

Note to Management: a BIG area for improvement is the Internet. For a resort of this quality, there is no excuse whatsoever to have such poor internet service. To get even a minimal improvement, they want $40/week additional (I spoke with someone who did and said it was a waste of money). A minor second area is to get a TV bigger than my computer screen.

In spite of the above, we look forward to staying right here next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simpson Bay Resort and Marina is ideally positioned on the beach, midway between the island's most popular night spots and shopping. Fine Restaurants abound to tempt your pallet, jewelry stores to browse through plus a car rental conveniently located in the lobby and an activity center makes it easy to plan excursions to dive/snorkel spots along with a variety of water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Maarten-St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.