We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Simpson Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two FREE Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Simpson Bay
new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel was centrally located to the Dutch side of the island, many dining choices and transportation. Friendly staff and very well kept property. Stores right on the premises for grocery and souvenirs, casino, restaurants, and right on the beach. this hotel has a great view, day trips right at hotels, and fun filled activities each day.

Room Tip: try to get room on the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    142
    78
    31
    9
See reviews for
85
176
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a great time in St. Maartin at Simpson Bay. The resort was not fancy, but very nice and clean. The resort has activities daily, and water sports on location. The location is good, there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. We worked out at the gym, there was a fee but it was very nice -great view of the marina while working out!... The pool and beach were very nice. The beach has chairs and umbrellas, there is someone to set it up for you. There is a deli across the street that has everything you need. You can get food at the beach restaurant and also at the pool.
Overall very nice place, I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the villas for 8 days and it was really, really great. Waking up to the sailboats in is a great way to live. The area around the resort is really nice and there are so many great restaurants in walking distance (both on and near the resort). We spent most of the time in the villas pool which kind of sucked because the entire pool, except the swim up bar, is 5 feet tall and so am I. The good thing is that there is access to the bay/ocean and it was so nice to just float in there. Overall the resort was really nice. Don't rely on the concierge. We made reservations through them for the Stone Restaurant which is right on the resort property (but not owned by the resort). When we got there, they knew nothing about our reservations and didn't have room for us.

There is a grocery store just in walking distance (which while quite expensive is still less than the small grocery store on the resort property). It's worth it to purchase items for breakfast and lunch along with alcohol to enjoy on your amazing balcony.

The rooms (we stayed in a master suite) was incredibly luxurious with a full kitchen, living room, very spacious bathroom/dressing area and bedroom. We were with a couple of other people and spent several afternoons eating lunch on someone's balcony with adult beverages!!!

We used the resort provided kyacks a couple of times to explore the bay and the lagoona under past the draw bridge.

Overall, it's an amazing place to stay right on the water with many amenities.

Room Tip: Stay in the villas! The remainder of the buildings on the property do not appear to be right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

WAY overrated. It was dark, dingy and falsely advertised! Fine for a $90/night hotel, but certainly not worth $200!!! Our terrace view was a parking lot and a bunch of cargo containers! And we were traveling with three other couples who experienced the exact same situation - thought they were getting a nice "resort" room and got a dump. Horrible, but we stuck it out as it was for one night only before visiting other islands. Later in the week, we stayed at Captian Oliver's and loved it! Not super fancy, but awesome location, great vibe, bright rooms with either balconies or patios overlooking the ocean or marina. Fun place!

Room Tip: Go to a different resort/hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo O, Online Community Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read that you felt that way about your unit; an upgrade to a different unit is always possible, you just need to pay the upgrade fee. We tried contacting you to request more info about your stay but unfortunately we never heard back from you.

Warm regards from sunny St Maarten,

Camilo Olea
Online Community Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just got back and had a very nice stay here. Part of the time share is being renovated but we stayed in the older part which once done will be wonderful. Pools and beach are clean. Very positive experience. Things are a lot slower on the island but as long as you prepare yourself for this it was a great place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our second visit (the previous one was about 6 years ago) and we were very pleased (with one exception - covered later). Located in Simpson Bay, it does not have a terrific beach like on the French side, however, it is 5 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of many restaurants, supermarket and marina. Our room was very nice, spotless and with a very comfortable bed and a nice kitchen. From our balcony we saw some of the most spectacular sunsets ever. Also, we feel very safe in this resort and the staff is very attentive.

Note to Management: a BIG area for improvement is the Internet. For a resort of this quality, there is no excuse whatsoever to have such poor internet service. To get even a minimal improvement, they want $40/week additional (I spoke with someone who did and said it was a waste of money). A minor second area is to get a TV bigger than my computer screen.

In spite of the above, we look forward to staying right here next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in D19.two bedroom, two bath sleeps six comfortably. This unit is in D building which has been completely refinished with stainless steel appliances, new furniture and comfortable bedding. The patio was large with new furniture and a great bay view. The restaurants on the property were excellent. Alexanders kitchen above the Bon appetit restaurant is a hidden gem with very reasonable prices and great selection. The onsite store Peli Deli was well stocked and competitive in pricing.The van shuttle service on site was fantastic as my husband has difficulty walking lond distances and this resort is built on a hill so everything is either up or down.Each of the six pools were spotless and the grounds were cleaned continually. The management is truly working to once again make this a travel destination. All the staff were friendly and super accomadating.The casino staff even offered to walk my Mother back to our unit after a night in the casino. Security is evident all thu out the facility. We took in two offered tours from the resort. One to Grand Case for mardi gras night and the other for shopping in Phillipsburg. Both were well run and inexpensive. This resort is central for restaurants and bars are all within walking distance with inexpensive food and great beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a building that has been refurbished and on the ground floor.Not all units have el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo O, Online Community Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay; thank you for such a descriptive review, I'm sure it will come in handy for other travelers. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, I will be passing a copy of your comments to management to congratulate them for a job well done.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon. Warm regards from sunny St Maarten,

Camilo Olea
Online Community Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
Mid-range, Beac...
Show More
6.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Boutique, Mid-r...
Show More
0.7 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 6 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & S...
#24 of 81 in St Maarten-St Martin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simpson Bay Resort and Marina is ideally positioned on the beach, midway between the island's most popular night spots and shopping. Fine Restaurants abound to tempt your pallet, jewelry stores to browse through plus a car rental conveniently located in the lobby and an activity center makes it easy to plan excursions to dive/snorkel spots along with a variety of water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Maarten-St Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.