We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back for 50th Birthday Celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going Back for 50th Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here in Oct 2014 and loved it so much that we're coming back to celebrate my brother's 50th this summer. Mary's Boon is right by Simpson Bay beach and all the rooms whether garden view, no view or beachfront are only steps aways (I think 20 steps away from the edge of the nice beautiful beach). They have cabanas on the beach, massage area, small intimate restaurant and bar. Bring your own cooler and use their continuous supply of ice. Beers, wine and liquor are very cheap in St Maarten approx half the costs in Canada. Put the cooler by your side to reach for a cold drink while enjoying the sounds of the waves. We had actually used the ice and crushed them using the blender in the room to make pina colada and margarita. A few walks away from the beach is "Karakter" beach bar which had nightly entertainment on Thurs. Fri. Sat & Sunday. We were fortunate enough to listen to a Venezuelan talented duo who performed a few latin numbers, then some familiar songs like Hotel California and nice guitar renditions of other popular songs. The hotel has a kitchen to make quick convenient meals. However, we opted to go to Grand Case "lolos" for their BBQ ribs and chicken and visited Greenhouse with reasonable costs and half price drinks during happy hour. We also did moonlight swim in the hotel's warm beach - it was so relaxing. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel. The airplane noise was not a concern for us.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    76
    18
    17
    23
See reviews for
28
126
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here one night in February. Had a ground floor unit by the pool. The unit was clean, but small. It had all of the essentials ( coffee pot, toaster, room safe, hair dryer, ceiling fan) including a small table and chair. The restaurant was wonderful. This was my second time dining here and it was just as good as the first! The view is phenomenal!
The pool was clean!
The staff was exceptionally friendly!
The check in process was easy!
There is limited parking-which may be the one small downfall.
We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Noise may be an issue around the pool. Ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
215 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an early flight out of St. Maarten so spent a night here as it is literally next to the runway instead of leaving Anguilla at 6am. This place is funky to say the least. Fine for one night, but that would be about it for me. The ac in the rooms is not adequate at all, once it finally got going it was okay. The beach is nice, water is always rough in St. Maarten, but our room was right on the water so that was a plus. It's inexpensive, so for some I can see that this would be a good place to go. Lots of folks watch the planes, which you honestly can't miss. The restaurant was actually quite good!

The pool is MINISCULE!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an unfortunate incident on the French side of the island, my boyfriend and I were in search of a hotel/area. After a few visits to some hotels, we found Mary's Boon on the Dutch side and right away, we knew this was what we were looking for. A nice and quaint resort right on the beach at Simpson Bay. The service, room, drinks, beautiful beach, proximity to everything, security and basically everything was spot on. We would definitely come back to St. Maarten and will definitely be back at Mary's Boon. This is the place to be. Thank you for turning our trip to St. Maarten an amazing one!

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a wonderful spot. The staff is amazing - Ricky rules! The food is good. Stephan and co. took great care of us at the var and on the beach. The location is perfect. You can walk to the bakery or store. Or you can just plop down on the beach, and walk down to Karakter. I felt very safe there and well taken care of at all times, even when I was there by myself for a few days. Can't wait to get back to my home away from home!

Room Tip: Beach Front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was great but the service was slow. Everyone enjoyed their breakfast and the view is amazing. Definitely will return next year. Need to add words to reach the minimum we are thinking of renting a room next year Not sure why I have to add more unless it is not counting correctly.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Returned for a day when cruise came in. Was here 8 years ago & felt like it was yesterday. Great people &service. Raul & Sasha at the beach bar were great, and staff at the restaurant & hotel were great.
Stripe & Molly, the hotel dogs were there to greet us. What a great day at the beach &watching the planes land.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Just what we like to hear.....thanks for your visit and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.