We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there at Mary's last year in April for two weeks. Was totally fantastic!!. The Staff are great, very helpful and friendly. The view from our room brought my wife to tears when the lovely lady took us outside, and I must admit at my age (56) there is not much wows me anymore, but this did. The food was great, we ate there most nights Our room was cleaned every day and was spotless. The pool was very warm and the beer was cold. Smiles all around. We loved it so much we are back there on the 2nd of May 2015, now that says it all. It really is the best place we have ever stayed in. FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words and happy to hear you had a great time at Mary's Boon. Even those of us that are lucky enough to live on St Maarten never get used to seeing the incredible views of the Caribbean Sea and wonderful beach at Mary's Boon. It is a beautiful place and we are happy you found us and hope you visit again and again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    17
    17
    23
See reviews for
24
120
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I came to St. Martin from New York City for a four-day weekend. I had been to Mary's Boon in 2001, but not since. Not only did it not disappoint, it was even better than I had remembered from fourteen years ago. The one dinner we had at Tides was absolutely magical - the food was first-rate, the service, friendly and efficient, and the view was unbeatable. Our room was on the second floor, oceanfront, and although a little bit dark was comfortable and clean. The Saturday and Sunday night beach parties turn the hotel into a bit of a hectic place, but on Monday (when we had dinner at the hotel) peace reigns supreme. And it's impossible to beat the runway views from the roof viewing deck (although that's a real missed opportunity; the bar on the viewing deck is clearly never used any more, and the seating is broken down - clearly the viewing deck has been completely neglected over the years, and that's a pity since it is a unique aspect of Mary's Boon). The staff in the bar and restaurant were lovely and helpful to a person, and although the Wi-Fi never really worked the entire time we were there, at least they made a pretense of trying to fix it. I recommended this hotel to some friends who were planning a trip to St. Martin a few weeks after us, and they've had just as nice an experience. Don't come expecting a five-star resort, but do expect to be well treated, to have a gorgeous beach footsteps from your door, and to have at least a few hours of watching some of the largest planes there are land just a few feet away.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are nice, but at least on the second floor you don't really have ocean views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We love guests like you that come to enjoy the simply things that Mary's Boon has to offer in a true Caribbean hotel. We are lucky to have great staff and yes great food too and in the perfect tropical setting. We are aware of some internet issues from time to time and the property manager has been told to do and spend whatever needed to make as good as possible. Since the hotel is so spread out the rooms at the end don't always get signal but a fix is in the works very soon. Thanks for your visit and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third visit here in two years.
It is a very quaint hotel but really nice.
Staff are great: Elena in Reception is as helpful (and lovely!) as ever and Ricky was terrific: he has a great sense of humour and can take, as well as make, a joke. He is very helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, if sometimes a little loud !! But great fun !!
The Hotel itself is a little tired in places and could do with some investment. Staff are very friendly but the "island mentality" means everyone is very laid-back and little things like a thick layer of dust on the room fans and in crevices on the ornate carved bed-heads could be so easily remedied with just a little effort and there was absolutely no excuse for the pile of dog poo that lay near my feet for five days as I sat on the garden seat for pre-dinner drinks each day and the furniture on the rooftop Observation Deck was a complete wreck and in need of urgent replacement.
But all those things are minor: it is still a great place to stay !!

Room Tip: Lower Garden Rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for you visit and your comments good and bad. I have forwarded the info to our property manager and he will take care of this right away, You are right, never a excuse for dust or dirt but we have made some resent housekeeping changes that should help. Sometime the simple things are the hardest things to get done or get overlooked even when they are a easy fix. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mary's Boon may not be the most modern of places, but it certainly is a place worth staying. Especially if you love the beach and enjoy swimming. The room we stayed in has direct access to the beach in front of the hotel. The ocean in fact was not even 15 ft from our private porch. The proximity to the airport was no problem, we hardly registered the sound of planes flying in or out of the airport. Service was good and the room was clean

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front if you enjoy the beach, but if you're an airplane spotter, ask for something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Mary's Boon over Easter weekend, We have stayed in villas and high end hotels on the island several times and we were very happy and impressed with this place. It is the quintessential Caribbean hotel. Friendly staff, guest returning year after year, several resort pets ( we had a gecko, 2 dogs and 3 cats that greeted us every morning... ). The vibe reminded us of places like Curtain Bluff in Antigua... low key, laid back and on island time. Some earlier reviews said that the airport bothered them - not sure what that is all about. We knew that it was located beside the airport, and for anyone who has ever been to SXM - you know one of the most unique attractions on the island is watching the arriving/ departing planes..... If your not into that, maybe you should google map the location of your next hotel. We love Mary's Boon and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a one bedroom - king room. Opens to your own patio and right onto the beautiful beach - roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have not stayed at the hotel but spent the better part of a week enjoying the beach at Mary's Boon. The staff were attentive and very friendly. The food was incedible as well. We just just loved it there.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed over the Easter weekend. Our room (201) had ocean and beach views; was very clean and had all the amenities (hair drier, two full sets of towels, shampoo and conditioner, body wash and even a small kitchen station fully equipped with coffee machine, China , cutlery and a small fridge; was perfect!) we also had a sitting area on the outside balcony. Some people have complained about the wifi. I don't think is that terrible! Wifi inside the room works usually OK. If not (only sometimes) go closer to the window. While we were sitting in the balcony right outside our room worked perfectly! If you are on the beach or at the bar, connect to the bar's wifi (satori) and ask for the password. I can't understand why people complain so much about it! Considering the hotel are trying their best as they have two different wifi connections! Come on...anyway, we will definitely come back to Mary's Boon! Great place!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.