We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After spending many other times at Mary's Boon, the old place hasn't lost any of it's charm. Located right on the beach, without a huge motel feeling, this establishment continues to shine brightly. The upgrades on the rooms only enhances a near perfect experience. I've heard some are bothered by the closeness of the airport, but I only marvel that I can be so near to something so breath taking! Every year when we return, we see the same people, and I am sure it's because of the location and the people that work there.

Room Tip: If you are going to St Maarten for the 1st time, get a room on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    58
    16
    15
    22
See reviews for
20
97
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our fifth visit to Mary's Boon. It had been eight years since we were there last. It is still the wonderful, friendly, relaxed beach guest house on Simpson Bay that we have loved for a long time.

The beach is not crowded and the hotel provides plenty of umbrellas, and chase lounges for their guests. There are two resident dogs and five resident cats. Ricky will make sure you have a pleasant stay. Matilda will make sure your room is cleaned every day.

All rooms either face the beach or the garden. The rooms are large and have high ceilings. Mary's Boon is not a luxury resort. It doesn't pretend to be. But, if you like low-key beach accommodations on a beautiful beach with warm and friendly staff, Mary's Boon is the place for you. The wi-fi is free. When the guest house is busy, you have to go to the lobby for reception.

The restaurant is now owned by different people and is leased out. The food is good and convenient, but not great. There are many restaurants close by. You will want to rent a car or take taxis to explore other areas of the island.

We have already made our reservations to visit again in January, 2016. Love this place.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 - 108 have balconies with their own private staircases going down to the beach. Room 205...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the real Caribbean Inn experience, but mostly it's about the Staff. Rick was the highlight of our trip as he made us feel welcome and special. He is definitely a huge asset to Mary's Boon as he has a genuine desire to make you feel at home. Also nice to have a restaurant on premises. Sascha provided excellent service with loads of friendly personality as well as the French Barman. Elena was very nice, as well as the lovely ladies who cleaned our room. Many Thanks to everyone. Had awesome scallops in the restaurant, and a great fish salad next door at Karacters...give them both a try. You do have sound from the jets, so I'd suggest divers silicone earplugs (Macs) as this is the only thing you should be prepared for. You are right on the beach so couldn't have a better location. Also bring mosquito repellant. We did not have an issue here as much as St. Bart's, as the breeze wards them off. Off makes a small repellant fan you can clip to your waist. We spent a week after in St. Bart's but did not have the same friendly overall feeling as we did at Mary's...at the end of the day it's more about the people than the drapes.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a place to know the Caribbean Sea and we found a heaven. Great people, wonderful place. I went 3 times and this year I intend go again! :)
All the stuff were so friendly and the experience in Simpson Bay is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Almost don't want to share...so good, comfortable, friendly, helpful, decor is awesome, great space, location... can't wait to go back. Can't comment on food or drink, as our studio kitchenette afforded us to provide our own snacks, drinks, etc., opportunity to save for dinner out and about! Loved the view from our 2nd floor corner unit! Marino beach boy was so attentive, as was the daily maid, such a nice job they did with a smile, always!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Maine
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very satisfied with the people who work here and how friendly they are. I could not figure out the TV in my room and Ricky made sure that I knew how to work it when he left the room. I had a nice unit next to the beach. We hung out at the beach all day long and were helped in obtaining an unbrella every day plus whatever we needed for refreshments on the beach. I am a senior citizen and this place seemed to cater to the younger crowd. I felt a lot younger when I saw the topless ladies on Sunday afternoon. It seemed like a religious holiday of sorts. (lol). The room was nice and as other reviews have said, the water pressure was troublesome at times. I mentioned to the management that a new toaster would be good for room 102. I mentioned this at checkout and hope that they do replace it. Service was very good in the room but was Carribbean style in the restaurant. I would go there again. A fun week.

Room Tip: Rooms along the beach are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank for your your visit to Mary's Boon and thank for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did lunch here and had an awesome Red Snapper filet and it was fabulous. The scene is of mixed nationalities but friendly. Nice spot to stop and have a drink as well. there is another spot next to this one called Karachters. I like Marys Boon better.
I did not stay at the hotel but it looked pretty cool.
ConsumerMarineSupply.com

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.