We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St . Maarten's best kept secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“St . Maarten's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Found this incredible dpot by accident and it was one of the best things to happen to us while in st. Maarten. Totally unique and unexpected. Right on a beautiful beach. Very laid back. Staff was so helpful. Food, we ate breakfast, was delicious! I highly recommend. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    56
    15
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
90
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was with my brother and and my son. He suggested we come here instead of Karakter. A very quiet, reserved and excellent spot for good drinks, quiet gathering and excellent food. Bartender was very welcoming. My 2 year old son loves the sand and totally finished the chicken tenders with fries.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here simply because of the strong reviews on Trip Advisor and they were all spot on! The rooms were great, the view is unbeatable, the staff, service and food were all incredible! When we first arrived, we were an hour early to check in, but they finished preparing the room and checked us right in. Of course we headed straight to the bar to grab a drink on the beach. Ana, the bartender was AMAZING! She took the time to list out on a map everything that we should do while we were there including what nights were best to go to certain places. Yes, it is close to the airport and can be loud, but it is not bad at all and it doesn't start early or go late at night. We had one issue with the AC and called downstairs. The manager promptly came and reset the compressor to fix the problem, in case it went out again they prepare another room and left a key with security. Definitely A+ service. The food at the restaurant was great and if the locals go there (which they all do), then it is definitely a great spot. We will definitely be heading back to St. Maarten and when we do we will absolutely be staying at Mary's Boon again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story or beach front. Since it's so close to the water any of them will more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Happy to hear you had a great time at Mary's Boon and thanks for the very kind words about your visit. We have a great true Caribbean Hotel and our staff try's hard to make sure everyone's is happy and taken care of. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you come back to Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadeloupe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we come often to Mary's Boon, food is ok, ambiance is great, it's true it could have more maintenance about lounge and ombrela, but the service espacialy Anna and th beach crew make a such a great relaxing and delightful experience.
Thanks!!!! see you again,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Glad you could spend some time on the beach with us at Mary's Boon and that you had a good time. Ana is a great staff member and always eager to help. I agree, umbrellas could be better but we now have lots of new beach chairs and new umbrellas coming soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent the day at Mary's Boon beach as "boonies". No one helped us with getting beach chairs or umbrellas. We opened up 4 umbrellas before we found one that wasn't broken. The beach is beautiful but the water was a little rough. This could have been because we had been getting a lot of rains and maybe there were storms out at sea. We had drinks brought to our chairs and the server was very nice. Drinks were really good!! Almost as soon as we got our drinks it began to rain - no POUR!! We grabbed our stuff - got pretty soaked and went inside the restaurant. We decided to have lunch.
Lunch was very good. I had a ceasar chicken salad and husband had a burger. Both were very good. We also split a chocolate lava cake - which was to die for!! Same server - very good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for spending the day at Mary's Boon ! The hotel does lease out the bar and restaurant part of the business to a third party operator and on most days has staff to help day guest with chairs and umbrellas. I believe as you said they day you came was not the best weather day so the normal beach person was not there to help you get a working umbrella, etc. Happy to hear you did enjoy your food and the great drinks and the service was good and even on rainy days its nice to look over the Caribbean. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel and grounds are very unique. The setting is adjacent from the airport, and yes the planes are loud, but I thought it was quite the experience to witness aircraft so close to a beach setting. The resort is small, quaint and has a ton of flare - cute interesting things to look at in every direction (funny signs). The hotel is warm and inviting and decorated with residential type furniture in the lobby which makes one feel at home.

Check in simple, and friendly. We were immediately upgraded to the beach front room - a little more on why later.

The beach front room was spacious, king bed, kitchenette, sitting area and decent size bathroom and closet. The back door to the unit opened directly on to the beach. I was amazed how close the beach is to the hotel, maybe a few hundred feet, or so. Having a beachfront room makes a day at the beach a piece of cake - just walk out the back door. The beach is just gorgeous. The pool is small, but clean. There is on site restaurant and bar. The breakfast was average, nothing special, but it was enjoyable drinking coffee with an incredible beach view.

The bed was comfy and any noise from the planes did not bother us. The dogs barking at night were more of a nuisance. Once one dog started, the others chimed in. Not sure if these were the hotel, guest, or stray dogs.

Since we were only staying for one night, we originally booked a Lower Garden room. Big mistake, as we immediately saw two dead roaches by the door, and another two in the bathroom. The room, however was very spacious. Elena (Manager), was quite surprised to see the dead roaches as we were. I understand there are bugs in tropical places, but I don't want to see them. Needless to say, there was no way I was going to stay in a bug infested room. Without hesitation, we were upgraded to a beachfront studio. And also, upon check out the next day, Elena gave us a discount, and credited our credit card. So, although I want to give this hotel an "Excellent" rating, especially with the outstanding customer service, I can only give it a "Very Good," due to the bug issue.

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if want a hotel close to the airport. And it's within walking distance (30 mins.) to Sunset Bar - which is blast watching the planes come in. I would come back again, and pay a little extra for a beach front room - it's really worth it having the beach right off the patio.

Room Tip: Beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your visit and happy to hear you had a good time despite the room issue at check in. Unfortunately being in the tropic's from time to time we do have minor issues with pests and since we had just some extra rain that always brings them out and on the move and not just at our property. It is very unusual to see anything like that in the guests rooms and we do have all a local pest control company spray all the rooms on a regular basis. They room that you were to have in the lower lobby area had just been sprayed the day before....and the good results were the dead bugs! The room should have been checked by a staff member before taking you to the room but I am happy that you were upgraded right away and offer a discount. So hopefully all is well that ends well! Mary's Boon is a fun and unique property as you said, lots to offer and the staff try's hard to make everyone's stay the very best. We are located in a tourist area but also with private homes close by too so you will see a few dogs from time to time but not normally a problem and I have asked the guard to be more watchful if they do bark. We do have one of the very best hotel beaches on the Island, pretty big and mostly pretty private and not really crowded. Most of our guests come back year after year and I hope you will keep us in mind also for your next trip to St Maarten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent an afternoon here enjoying the view. Had lunch on the beach. Food was wonderful, fresh salad, superbly cooked burger. Great flavor! The service was wonderful; beers were ice cold! Couldn't beat the view.
Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: You can eat on the beach! Well worth a visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa and for spending the day with us on the beach. What could be better than having breakfast, lunch or dinner while overlooking the Caribbean and the white sand on Simpson Bay. We also have 37 nicely furnished rooms many with incredible beach views so next time come for the week and stay with is also. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.