We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel with everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel with everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved our stay at Mary's Boon. The beach is pristine and rock free. If you cannot find a beach chair or an umbrella, one of the staff will quickly find one for you. The bar has steps that go right on to the beach and the restaurant overlooking the beach has great food and is never crowded. The rooms are eclectically furnished which gives you a feel of being in Europe, The bed was really comfortable. We had a small kitchenette but it had a microwave and refrigerator as well as a small stove. The people there ar great. They give you all the privacy or attention you need. DO NOT worry about the planes; they are thrilling and it's fun to see the differnt types that take off and land from the island. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
So happy to hear you "loved" Mary's Boon and had a great time. We know how important vacations are and my staff and I work hard to make sure you have the very best one possible. We are doing a lot of updating of the property and rooms now and hope you keep us in mind for your next visit to St Maarten. Its the NEW Mary's Boon! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    19
    17
    23
See reviews for
30
130
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found Mary's Boon Hotel almost by accident, though it was listed in Frommer's Guide.
We had booked another place, via Internet, but when we arrived (Travel Inn) we found it was awful and had to find somewhere else. That's where Frommer's Guide came in. We walked down Simpson Bay and stopped at Mary's Boon Hotel for breakfast. Whilst there, we explored the possibility of switching hotels and the rates offered by Mary's Boon were actually lower, after negotiation, than the Travel Inn but the rooms at Mary's Boon were in another class altogether. They were spacious, clean, comfortable,well-equipped, and right on the beach, with all the usual hotel facilities such as Bar, Restaurant, etc, none of which featured at Travel Inn.
The staff at Mary's Boon were fantastic, especially the lovely Elena in Reception and the bubbly Lisa in the Bar.
Mary's Boon is a GREAT place to stay and we'll definitely be back there !!!

Room Tip: Room 129 is just 10 steps from the beachfront and is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Very happy that you had good time while at Mary's Boon, this is what we all love to hear! All of the rooms and property are now being updated (even room 129) so hopefully your next visit to Mary' Boon will be better than the last. Eleana is great and Lisa in the Bar keeps us all laughing! We want all of our guests to leave happy, tan and return again and again.

That's our promise and our goal. That's the new Mary's Boon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My first experience at Mary's Boon was for my friend's recent wedding and me, my fiance and everybody else had the most amazing time. What a great place, what a great staff!!!! From the girl that manages the office (I looooved her accent) to Lisa and the beach guys, wow what to say, so helpful, friendly, professional and at the same time cool. The food was amazing, the beach stretch the best on the island, we didn't have to go anywhere else and even the planes were not bothering us but instead we took so many fun pictures. We all talked about coming back for a longer period not 4 or 5 days and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the real, authentic Caribbean hotel.
P.S. Me and my fiance already started making some plans of having our wedding there too :)

Room Tip: Beach Front units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good time while at Mary's Boon. I was not there at that time but I heard to was a great and really FUN and CRAZY wedding! Thanks for the kind words on our staff....I am very lucky to have a great group that works hard to make everyone's vacation the very best. What can I say about Lisa in the Bar.....AMAZING and funny and fun! That's the real Mary's Boon! Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

So we had the pleasure of being married at Marys Boon on March 23rd 2013.What an awesome experiance ... we had about 40 guest and Marys went above and beyond to take care of us and everyone involved ... Lisa our wedding planner extrodonaire made everything perfect for us for day one of our communication all the way to our final goodbyes .... i know another reviewer said it was horrible but they should have come and said hi ... they could have joined in the fun ... as far as being close to the airport .. we are airport geeks and anyone who knows Maho .or reads reviews .knows it is famous for being close to the airport thats part of the charm we had a car parked there all week with no issues ... so back to Marys Boon and the Tides resturant.. the hotel is quaint they took care of over 20 of our guest for a good part of the week with no issue ... as far as the food ..it was great everyone loved it .. many of our guest travel the world and thanked us for letting them in on this little know secret spot with the beautiful beach ....and said they will return often again if you are use to big time resorts in a ritzy neighborhood ..maybe this isnt the place for you ...if you like a nice place with good food and great beach location than definutly stay here ... if you have a special event isuggest you find Lisa and she will make sure it is done right !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Back in the late 70's - 80's and early 90's when MB was the real thing- Rush and Alan ran a wonderful, yet, unique retreat. the bar- honor system- sign in for the drinks you served yourself and pay at the end of the stay. the rooms- not AC- but oh so Caribbean- ceiling fans, breezes form the sea- bathrooms- clean and nice-
Dinner- ah Rush had away about him. If you were stayng there,you had first "dibs" so to speak but you needed to sign up for dinner time. Outsiders- well you were lucky if you got to join the "family." If you were not liked or were otherwise not acceptable, good bye- you would not share at dinner.Wat staff, starched, clean an doh so professional. At the end of the evening when Rush was done, so were we- dinner is done- bar is closed- good nite all! It was a tightly run ship- almost like boot camp in a loving way- and yet it was joyful fun and oh so well taken care of. The pets ran free, the monkeys and parrots and other animals in the cages in the front of MB were a great addition-and so loved by Alan and Rush- staff was so attentive and yet invisible. those were the days "my friends" we thought it would never end"... but alas, times, owners, ideas change history. I wish you all could have enjoyed those glorious days like we did. But the sea remains pure, blue and so inviting. It is the best aspect of MB without a doubt. Good luck to the new/old owners who bought it from Rush- work hard, bring it back and you to will be successful. EB It was a family trip made up of friends, spouse and family too. have to fill in a date of travel to pass this on to you, but I have not been there since 1989. So I am making up a date. Or else I cannot pass on my info.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I loved reading your review. Thank you! I was the owner of Mary's Boon from 1996 to 2007 ( I bought it from Rush) and just bought it back on Thanksgiving Day, just a few months ago. What you say is so true. Yes, Mary's Boon was a very special place back then and as time has gone by is still a very special place. Times do change things but we still do have much of the old staff from Rush's days and trying to get back some of that old charm that has been lost in recent years and also updating all the rooms and property. As you, we have heard many Rush stories (the 2nd owner) and even Mary stories (the first owner) before Rush and have a few of my own also. If the walls could talk as they say....it would make a great book! We are committed again to making it great again so if you are in the area again please do stop by for a visit and chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have eaten there many times and had quite a few drinks. The atmosphere is lovely and the view is outstanding. The food is great and the drinks are plentiful. Great place and out of the way. Would recomend this to anyone who wishes an out of the way and quiet place

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really nice place and nice view on simpson bay..
About the restaurant, it was Fantastic, the staff was very professional,very kind...
About the food, reasonnable prices, good quality, good presentation..
Live music every Sunday, not loud....
# 1 Beach place on SXM...Thanks to you..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.6 mi away
Turquoise Shell Inn
Turquoise Shell Inn
#2 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
3.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.