We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Hotel to stay at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic Hotel to stay at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found Mary's Boon Hotel almost by accident, though it was listed in Frommer's Guide.
We had booked another place, via Internet, but when we arrived (Travel Inn) we found it was awful and had to find somewhere else. That's where Frommer's Guide came in. We walked down Simpson Bay and stopped at Mary's Boon Hotel for breakfast. Whilst there, we explored the possibility of switching hotels and the rates offered by Mary's Boon were actually lower, after negotiation, than the Travel Inn but the rooms at Mary's Boon were in another class altogether. They were spacious, clean, comfortable,well-equipped, and right on the beach, with all the usual hotel facilities such as Bar, Restaurant, etc, none of which featured at Travel Inn.
The staff at Mary's Boon were fantastic, especially the lovely Elena in Reception and the bubbly Lisa in the Bar.
Mary's Boon is a GREAT place to stay and we'll definitely be back there !!!

Room Tip: Room 129 is just 10 steps from the beachfront and is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Very happy that you had good time while at Mary's Boon, this is what we all love to hear! All of the rooms and property are now being updated (even room 129) so hopefully your next visit to Mary' Boon will be better than the last. Eleana is great and Lisa in the Bar keeps us all laughing! We want all of our guests to leave happy, tan and return again and again.

That's our promise and our goal. That's the new Mary's Boon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    56
    15
    15
    21
See reviews for
19
88
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My first experience at Mary's Boon was for my friend's recent wedding and me, my fiance and everybody else had the most amazing time. What a great place, what a great staff!!!! From the girl that manages the office (I looooved her accent) to Lisa and the beach guys, wow what to say, so helpful, friendly, professional and at the same time cool. The food was amazing, the beach stretch the best on the island, we didn't have to go anywhere else and even the planes were not bothering us but instead we took so many fun pictures. We all talked about coming back for a longer period not 4 or 5 days and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience the real, authentic Caribbean hotel.
P.S. Me and my fiance already started making some plans of having our wedding there too :)

Room Tip: Beach Front units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good time while at Mary's Boon. I was not there at that time but I heard to was a great and really FUN and CRAZY wedding! Thanks for the kind words on our staff....I am very lucky to have a great group that works hard to make everyone's vacation the very best. What can I say about Lisa in the Bar.....AMAZING and funny and fun! That's the real Mary's Boon! Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

So we had the pleasure of being married at Marys Boon on March 23rd 2013.What an awesome experiance ... we had about 40 guest and Marys went above and beyond to take care of us and everyone involved ... Lisa our wedding planner extrodonaire made everything perfect for us for day one of our communication all the way to our final goodbyes .... i know another reviewer said it was horrible but they should have come and said hi ... they could have joined in the fun ... as far as being close to the airport .. we are airport geeks and anyone who knows Maho .or reads reviews .knows it is famous for being close to the airport thats part of the charm we had a car parked there all week with no issues ... so back to Marys Boon and the Tides resturant.. the hotel is quaint they took care of over 20 of our guest for a good part of the week with no issue ... as far as the food ..it was great everyone loved it .. many of our guest travel the world and thanked us for letting them in on this little know secret spot with the beautiful beach ....and said they will return often again if you are use to big time resorts in a ritzy neighborhood ..maybe this isnt the place for you ...if you like a nice place with good food and great beach location than definutly stay here ... if you have a special event isuggest you find Lisa and she will make sure it is done right !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Back in the late 70's - 80's and early 90's when MB was the real thing- Rush and Alan ran a wonderful, yet, unique retreat. the bar- honor system- sign in for the drinks you served yourself and pay at the end of the stay. the rooms- not AC- but oh so Caribbean- ceiling fans, breezes form the sea- bathrooms- clean and nice-
Dinner- ah Rush had away about him. If you were stayng there,you had first "dibs" so to speak but you needed to sign up for dinner time. Outsiders- well you were lucky if you got to join the "family." If you were not liked or were otherwise not acceptable, good bye- you would not share at dinner.Wat staff, starched, clean an doh so professional. At the end of the evening when Rush was done, so were we- dinner is done- bar is closed- good nite all! It was a tightly run ship- almost like boot camp in a loving way- and yet it was joyful fun and oh so well taken care of. The pets ran free, the monkeys and parrots and other animals in the cages in the front of MB were a great addition-and so loved by Alan and Rush- staff was so attentive and yet invisible. those were the days "my friends" we thought it would never end"... but alas, times, owners, ideas change history. I wish you all could have enjoyed those glorious days like we did. But the sea remains pure, blue and so inviting. It is the best aspect of MB without a doubt. Good luck to the new/old owners who bought it from Rush- work hard, bring it back and you to will be successful. EB It was a family trip made up of friends, spouse and family too. have to fill in a date of travel to pass this on to you, but I have not been there since 1989. So I am making up a date. Or else I cannot pass on my info.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I loved reading your review. Thank you! I was the owner of Mary's Boon from 1996 to 2007 ( I bought it from Rush) and just bought it back on Thanksgiving Day, just a few months ago. What you say is so true. Yes, Mary's Boon was a very special place back then and as time has gone by is still a very special place. Times do change things but we still do have much of the old staff from Rush's days and trying to get back some of that old charm that has been lost in recent years and also updating all the rooms and property. As you, we have heard many Rush stories (the 2nd owner) and even Mary stories (the first owner) before Rush and have a few of my own also. If the walls could talk as they say....it would make a great book! We are committed again to making it great again so if you are in the area again please do stop by for a visit and chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have eaten there many times and had quite a few drinks. The atmosphere is lovely and the view is outstanding. The food is great and the drinks are plentiful. Great place and out of the way. Would recomend this to anyone who wishes an out of the way and quiet place

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really nice place and nice view on simpson bay..
About the restaurant, it was Fantastic, the staff was very professional,very kind...
About the food, reasonnable prices, good quality, good presentation..
Live music every Sunday, not loud....
# 1 Beach place on SXM...Thanks to you..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It's not "near" the airport, it's 50 ft from the active runway! Jets, big commercial flights and many corporate planes, land and take off right in front of the hotel. One almost clipped the fence last week. The jet blast shattered the windows in five cars parked out front. Thankfully, no one was in them. We had a scary experience ourselves, having to run and duck behind an outside wall when a big jet landed and then turned around right in front, spraying stones and dirt with the jet blast. The noise is unbelievable. Rooms are funky, mosquito infested and not very clean. Ours is right next to the bar and we can hear the workers, and smell the grease and cigarettes. Smokers are everywhere. Our so-called non smoking room reeks and contains an ashtray. Oh yeah, and here we sit at midnight with a very drunken wedding party right outside our door, complete with a bonfire and loud music. They took over the restaurant and bar since mid-afternoon. There are no places to escape to within walking distance and the neighborhood is dicey, to say the least. Cab drivers hate to come here because it's so crowded there is no place for them to turn around. We tried to call the front desk and no one answers. It's earplugs if we hope for any sleep. All this for $300 a night. Don't even think of staying here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your problems while you were at Mary's Boon, if my staff or myself was aware of these issues they would have been fixed to your approval or you compensated. I was the owner of the Hotel from 1996 to 2007 and just bought it back again this past Thanksgiving Day and in the process of updating the rooms and property and since the hotel was almost fully booked from the time we took over again until recently for the winter high season we could do little in the rooms, but we are now working on them daily. The room you were in was smaller than the normal beachfront rooms and yes just next to the bar and restaurant. We do not operate that part of the business (leased out) but are working to make sure they do not disturb or Hotel guests when they are having larger events such as the loud wedding party. Dirty roooms are no Excuse and we are in the process of reviewing the housekeeping staff. As Donald Trump says, if needed .....someone will be fired. Yes, like some of the biggest Hotels on the lsland we are by the airport , by the beginning of the runway or like us mid runway. At times with some of the larger planes it might seem like its just 50 feet away and the wings can touch the fence. The airport does normally close at 10pm and not normally many jets before noon or past 4pm. Obviously what you spoke about with the car windows breaking is not normal and was by a pilot making a BIG mistake by not going to the end of the runway as the bigger planes are reqired to do and then turning mid runway the wrong way away from the Hotel. Thier was a cruise ship in port that had a engine problem and stranded apx 3000 passeger so they had to flying in over 15 large planes to returm them all to the USA. The airport was extra busy for a few days from all these extra flights. Mine and 2 other cars were parked next to the airport fence and had glass broken which the airline paid for. I have been on the Island for 16 years and its the first time anything like that has ever happened. Mary's Boon has for over 30 years had a large New England repeat following with even a few very well known names that has stayed at the Hotel over the years and we do value everyones business. We are working through some issues but please be assured that if you ever give us another chance it will be a much better experience. That's the new Mary's Boon and our promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.