We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Brick, NJ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have eaten there many times and had quite a few drinks. The atmosphere is lovely and the view is outstanding. The food is great and the drinks are plentiful. Great place and out of the way. Would recomend this to anyone who wishes an out of the way and quiet place

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    53
    15
    15
    21
See reviews for
16
86
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really nice place and nice view on simpson bay..
About the restaurant, it was Fantastic, the staff was very professional,very kind...
About the food, reasonnable prices, good quality, good presentation..
Live music every Sunday, not loud....
# 1 Beach place on SXM...Thanks to you..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It's not "near" the airport, it's 50 ft from the active runway! Jets, big commercial flights and many corporate planes, land and take off right in front of the hotel. One almost clipped the fence last week. The jet blast shattered the windows in five cars parked out front. Thankfully, no one was in them. We had a scary experience ourselves, having to run and duck behind an outside wall when a big jet landed and then turned around right in front, spraying stones and dirt with the jet blast. The noise is unbelievable. Rooms are funky, mosquito infested and not very clean. Ours is right next to the bar and we can hear the workers, and smell the grease and cigarettes. Smokers are everywhere. Our so-called non smoking room reeks and contains an ashtray. Oh yeah, and here we sit at midnight with a very drunken wedding party right outside our door, complete with a bonfire and loud music. They took over the restaurant and bar since mid-afternoon. There are no places to escape to within walking distance and the neighborhood is dicey, to say the least. Cab drivers hate to come here because it's so crowded there is no place for them to turn around. We tried to call the front desk and no one answers. It's earplugs if we hope for any sleep. All this for $300 a night. Don't even think of staying here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your problems while you were at Mary's Boon, if my staff or myself was aware of these issues they would have been fixed to your approval or you compensated. I was the owner of the Hotel from 1996 to 2007 and just bought it back again this past Thanksgiving Day and in the process of updating the rooms and property and since the hotel was almost fully booked from the time we took over again until recently for the winter high season we could do little in the rooms, but we are now working on them daily. The room you were in was smaller than the normal beachfront rooms and yes just next to the bar and restaurant. We do not operate that part of the business (leased out) but are working to make sure they do not disturb or Hotel guests when they are having larger events such as the loud wedding party. Dirty roooms are no Excuse and we are in the process of reviewing the housekeeping staff. As Donald Trump says, if needed .....someone will be fired. Yes, like some of the biggest Hotels on the lsland we are by the airport , by the beginning of the runway or like us mid runway. At times with some of the larger planes it might seem like its just 50 feet away and the wings can touch the fence. The airport does normally close at 10pm and not normally many jets before noon or past 4pm. Obviously what you spoke about with the car windows breaking is not normal and was by a pilot making a BIG mistake by not going to the end of the runway as the bigger planes are reqired to do and then turning mid runway the wrong way away from the Hotel. Thier was a cruise ship in port that had a engine problem and stranded apx 3000 passeger so they had to flying in over 15 large planes to returm them all to the USA. The airport was extra busy for a few days from all these extra flights. Mine and 2 other cars were parked next to the airport fence and had glass broken which the airline paid for. I have been on the Island for 16 years and its the first time anything like that has ever happened. Mary's Boon has for over 30 years had a large New England repeat following with even a few very well known names that has stayed at the Hotel over the years and we do value everyones business. We are working through some issues but please be assured that if you ever give us another chance it will be a much better experience. That's the new Mary's Boon and our promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mary's Boon has just been reacquired by a previous owner who seems to be working very hard to improve the facilities. Rooms were being refurbished and outside painting and landscaping being done. We stayed for a few days both before and after our March 2nd cruise. We stayed in a beachside room the first time and the garden room the second time. The beachside room is worth the extra price. Sitting on the deck and watching the water is much better than fighting the mosquitos on the porch of the garden room. The furnishings in the beachside room was much better than the garden room with at least a comfortable sitting chair. The bed in both rooms was most comfortable but the plastic chairs and table in our garden room need an upgrade. Mosquitos were definitely a problem but they seemed to be trying to spray to eradicate them. We had some problems with our rooms - door lock, toilet running - but they were quick to fix the problems. They seem to be working to improve the infrastructure and are planning major upgrades to the rooms. The entire staff was most friendly and accommodating. The bar and restaurant are managed and owned by someone else. My husband says that Lisa fixes the best mojitos around! We ate in Tides during the stay prior to the cruise. Breakfast and lunch were excellent. Some dinners were very good. You can't beat the view of Simpson Bay and the airplanes landing and taking off right next to the hotel is a lot of fun. The resort has rooftop sitting areas so you can get up close and personal with the planes! The seating in the lobby is limited but comfortable. And the large crescent beach is very nice. Umbrellas and chaise lounges are available. This is not your everyday cookie cutter resort. It is eclectic yet comfortable. Taxis are readily available but a car rental would give you more freedom to roam the island. For example, there is a wonderful French bakery 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are the best...the views of the bay from the porch are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Mary's Boon for ONE night...Thank God. When we checked in I was told we were upgrade, I thought "Oh great!" The gentlemen took us to our "Garden Suite" which was dated and dirty. We dropped off suitcases and went to get I bite to eat. When we returned later that night we walked in to find our suite infested by mosquitos. It was late and we had been traveling all day, so we just hopped into bed and covered ourselves up. When we woke up early the next morning, we were horrified!! There were mosquitos everywhere, mostly flying around the toilet. I just wanted out!!! My husband went to the sink to throw some water on his face and brush his teeth but couldn't because there was no water. We quickly packed up and left. When I checked out I told them not to check anyone in that "Suite" until they do something about the infestation of mosquitos. They acted putout that I was bothered by them, they told me that it's an island and they have trouble with mosquitos. I told them that is was my seventh year coming to St Maarten and I have NEVER experienced anything like that. I would never stay here again nor recommend it to my family, friends, or enemies.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went there week ago ..half of the dishes they didnt have it on the menu ..we order the fish and it was waaay over cook .
Deserts nothing from the menu , only some chocolate cake terrible taste
Ambient is old and everything is nasty and full of dust .. While we eating our dinner we was trying to get rid of the house animals.. Including the rat what came out of the kitchen while i was waiting in the man's restroom
TERRIBLE , RATS ROACHES AND TERRIBLE FOOD TASTE
NEVER AGAIN TIDES RESTAURANT
find some new chef and a good Manager or close down that place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The water views are its best aspect. Molly the dog and playful kittens were a nice distraction. But I'm afraid that's all I could really say was good about the place.This is a strange place it's décor seems to be trying to be a bit bohemian but it's basically just bad taste. The service ranged from good to just outright rude. The appliance did not work from the air-conditioning, the hair-drier on the wall and the shampoo dispenser in the shower. What on earth were they thinking putting nylon bed linen on the beds in hot weather. Our room did not look like it had been dusted in years and the general cleanliness was poor. I woke up with insect bits all over my arms and legs. The food well just forget, $25 for a hamburger and beer, and the fish sandwich was tasteless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.