We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't bring ourselves to even check in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Doswell, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't bring ourselves to even check in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were scheduled to stay at Mary's Boon for 5 nights. The drive to the resort is enough to frighten anyone. People living in their cars, drug deals, prostitutes. Didn't even feel safe leaving the rental car, which coincidentally, they would not even give us one with hubcaps! The pool was dirty, the sidewalks uneven and broken, and the fountain wasn't functional. We asked to see our room. The smell of mold was overwhelming. The kitchenette was dirty. Called travel agent and demanded to be moved ASAP. I would NEVER stay here. The view is breathtaking but it is ever where on the island. Personal safety is foremost.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    15
    15
    21
See reviews for
16
81
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located on a wonderful beach (nb: not next to a beach, ON the beach) that is nice for swimming and relaxation. It's a public beach, but hardly anyone comes by here, so the athmosphere is very private. Massages or dining on the beach are possible.

The hotel staff is extremely friendly. They don't just treat you like a guest, but like a friend. I travel a lot, but no other hotel managed to make me feel so at home as the Mary's Boon does.

If you are into aviation, the rooftop offers some unique views on the runway, that is right next to the hotel. Unless you are extremely sensitive to noise, this is not a problem, though, as there are no night movements at St. Maarten.

I've stayed at the Boon for the second time this year, and I am guaranteed to come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Went with my wife and friends. This is my fifth stay at Mary's Boon. The friendliest staff one could ever hope for. The beach is incredible. The view and the view from the roof top bar can't be beat.

Room Tip: Room number 6 has the best view on the property, true beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles County, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place is fantastic.
Been there several times, most recently in April 2012.
I generally stay in time shares on the other end of Simpson Bay and I'll WALK the bay with Mary's Boon as my destination.
It's a great place for brunch/lunch.
The breakfast food is excellent - the warm croissant is to die for. The inn itself is very charming with a small pool out front in a garden area, and rooms strewn about in a non-linear fashion. Much like a little guest cottage or villa.
Those looking for 5 star facilities should keep looking -
But if you want to be ALONE with someone,
have a delightful meal in the cafe overlooking the sea,
spend the day lounging, swimming, drinking, walking on the beach with cold drinks, hammocks, chairs, friendly faces never far away, this place is a winner.

It IS near the airport so planes do take off and land all day...
But if you're a St Maarten enthusiast you realize that this is a POSITIVE because watching those planes come in and out here is almost ritual. And it does stop in the evening. In my book not a factor....if you're an uptight person, you ain't gonna enjoy this place anyway. I've read other reviews in TOTAL amazement as people complain about slow service in the restaurant, mismatched furnishings, etc. This is NOT the four seasons, it's a charming small business where everything is beautiful and everyone is friendly. You watch...most of the people reviewing with complaints were coming in to stay here for like TWO DAYS or something. Man, you're really missing the point of this whole St. Maarten thing, I must say.

Service has been GREAT (if not really fast) every time I've been there. There's no rush, I'm always GRATEFUL to sit there and linger longer anyway, it's a most beautiful spot. My 6 year old son finishes his meal and begs to go outside and we say YES and then have another cocktail in our seat by the window, perhaps even order DESERT after lunch....this is our vacation and we're enjoying the heck out of it.
You pushy always in a rush types? Go elsewhere...please! :)

I had a meal there with friends last week before my family arrived and said "I love how everything here is DONE PERFECTLY. The arrangements, the way the food is prepared, the way the window treatments are, the way the furniture in the lobby is clean and inviting yet comfortable. The whole place encourages you to........linger.

Plus they have a KICK BUTT wi-fi. One of the best I've seen on the island.

Room Tip: The beachside rooms seem pricey to me. If you stayed garden side you're getting a heck of a val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Perfect beach-side location (with airport runway on other side). Planes fly in/out frequently so it's quite noisy - though we didn't mind. Met some lovely, friendly people (almost exclusively American). Lisa (from Wisconsin) runs a great small bar and was a delightful hostess. Tapas and restaurant food, service, decor and (obviously) location were all very good.
Small pool at the front was dirty and un-used....but why bother with a pool when the beautiful Caribbean is a few yards away?
Almost needed small ladder to climb into a huge, comfortable, creaky, old bed in good-sized room with well-stocked kitchenette.
Only downside is the cost: GBP 140 (USD 210) per night is too steep. We'll shop-around next visit but probably stay close by if we can't get a getter deal. Also they shouldn't show the hotel name and room nbr on the key. It was stolen when my wife's bag was snatched (near the main road). We never felt threatened during our stay but these incidents can happen anywhere - so be on your guard.

Took about 20 mins to walk down beach & thru small estate to Maho beach where we could almost touch the planes as they landed...and were (almost) blown-away by the jet blast when they took-off. Some of the pilots opened their windows & waved and one even took photos of the people on the beach.....Incredible. Great fun. A (KLM) 747 looks terrifying when you're only 30 ft under it !!

Room Tip: Our room (102) and next door were actually ON the beach and 10 seconds from the bar. There were othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We enjoyed breakfast and lunch here in January and February, 2012. We actually stayed at The Horny Toad Guesthouse down the beach in Simpson Bay, but walked up the beach to eat here! Such a beautiful view from the restaurant. Everything was exceptionally clean. Good food, too! We ate our wonderful sandwiches right on the beach on lounge chairs...it was Heavenly. Such a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you are in Simpson Bay, relax. Don't expect immediate service. Everything is relaxed here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at Marys Boon for a week and wish we could have stayed longer. With the best beach just steps away from your door, a good restaurant and bar you don't need to go any other place.
Yes there is an airport behind the resort, they even have a sundeck where you can watch the planes take off and land. All flights stop at around 8 pm and don't start until around 7 am...

Room Tip: The rooms at the west end of the property are the best, make sure you get the ones facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.