We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly relaxing guesthouse with great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horny Toad Guest House

Save Saved
You added Horny Toad Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Horny Toad Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Vlaun Dr., Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San francisco
1 review
“Friendly relaxing guesthouse with great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and loved our experience. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the water from our room and started every morning with a swim in the ocean. The rooms was impeccably clean and the service was top notch for this gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south amboy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Toad and it was fabulous. Nothing fancy, but very clean and homey. The property manager Betty is wonderful and will make your stay a pure delight. She had our fridge stocked when we got there, renting a car was a breeze. The beach was beautiful and the water great. I will be going back to the Toad on my next trip down to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room which has a nice porch wrapped around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 12 days in April/May. We've stayed at many places in SXM, but never one as wonderful as here. Rooms are spotless and have everything you could possibly need. You walk out your door and you're on the beach. The owner, Betty, is incredible. A real class act! Can't wait to go back again. You will not be disappointed if you choose The Horny Toad Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights in Dec. '12, after Christmas. We enjoyed our stay on our 2nd floor room, overlooking the beautiful beach. We liked the sliding security gate, & all the amenities of our room. Betty the owner was great, & made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the upper unit (#2) and his sister and her son and grown daughter in the larger downstairs unit (#5). We went back and forth between both units over the course of our 5-day stay, but I prefer the upstairs oceanview rooms. In Dec/Jan there is a lovely breeze to keep you cool (though rooms do have A/C), and there is nothing like being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf. But there's just nothing like having that beach all to yourself! Simpson Bay Beach is quiet with few visitors (and most of the visitors we did see had dogs, which made me miss my pooch!). We used the BBQ one night too, and again, it was like having the whole beach to ourselves though it was New Year's Eve.

Betty was more like the owner of a B&B than the manager of a hotel. She offered advice (and in a motherly way, advised us to try to save water and electricity, asked us to keep the suitcases off the bedspread since "airplanes are dirty," and showed us how to keep all the doors locked properly when we were not there or were sleeping). She arranged a rental car for us, and offered advice on where to go to eat, to scuba dive, etc. She also filled our kitchen with the food we requested, which was a really nice bonus, especially since we had not yet arranged a rental car and did not know our way around.

We also really enjoyed the housekeepers, two sisters from Jamaica, who were very friendly (and cleaned all of our dishes each morning though we never expected them to do this). They tok good care of us too!

Though we toured most of the island, we loved Simpson Bay and how quiet and relaxing it was compared to the island's other beaches. Staying at the Horny Toad is like staying at your own private beach cottage, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing place to chill and get away from it all.

Room Tip: I recommend upstairs facing the beach as there is a nice breeze and a great ocean view, unless you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights in October. Betty was incredibly gracious... we had an issue prior to traveling in that we sent in our deposit by check and she never received it. She held our reservation and let us pay her on good faith when we got there.

The property is a gem: unassuming from the tiny street but set right on the beach with gorgeous views! I love that the Horny Toad logo is emblazoned right on the side of the building :) Our room was surprisingly big and our bed was two beds shoved together making it like a California king-- very nice. The room looks like a dated hotel room but it's perfect for what we needed it for- a nice clean crashpad between adventures. The double sliding glass doors that make up the front "wall" of the room are just amazing and we loved waking up to the gorgeous views of the sea. The air conditioner unit worked pretty well though the room smelled a little mildewy at times, not sure if a filter needed changed or what. The kitchenette was fully stocked with utensils, towels, etc and more than adequate for our short stay.

We really enjoyed being there during off-season because there was only one other guest there so it felt like we had a private beach house. We ate breakfast on the covered wrap-around porch at the table right outside our room and took in the balmy breezes. Betty's made an emphasis on safety and security and though we felt very safe,she showed us how to lock the sliding doors, the safe in the closet and the motion-detecting security system outside each unit's door. One night when I couldn't sleep, I went out on the porch and just lounged on a chaise listening to the ocean and taking in the glow from the tube lights and lanterns she has illuminating the sandy beachfront backyard. Another night, my boyfriend and I walked down the beach for quite a while taking in the views-- lovely!

We got groceries at the supermarket up on the main street within walking distance and ended up renting a car from a small place we saw on the way back for a very affordable price. All in all- a great experience at the Horny Toad, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

i stayed here when the volcano was erupting in iceland in 2010 last minute. after staying there for only a day i wanted the volcano to erupt for a bit longer what a stay. fabulous and lovely lady owner. big room with a kitchen with more appliances than i have in my own house! lovely partially outside shower area slightly erotic! but you can use the shower curtain. the beach there is extremely quiet and beautiful and i shall be returning in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horny Toad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horny Toad Guest House

Also Known As:
Horny Toad Guest House Hotel Simpson Bay
Horny Toad Guest House Hotel
Horny Toad Guest House St Maarten-St Martin/Simpson Bay
Address: 2 Vlaun Dr., Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horny Toad Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horny Toad is a deliberately small and distinctive guesthouse known for its congenial and unpretentious atmosphere. The original building is a former governor's house tastefully renovated into spacious, fully-equipped apartments. Each of the eight apartments is delightfully different, displaying a personality of its own. All rooms have fully-equipped kitchens, king size beds, complete baths with shower, and daily maid service. Fresh flowers are arranged in the units every day. The guesthouse is on the beach and provides beach chairs, towels and floats. An outdoor barbecue pavilion with two Weber gas grills, table and hammock allow you to enjoy dining beach-side. Simpson Bay beach is a beautiful, uncrowded mile-long beach - just a few steps from each apartment - great for walking, swiming and sunbathing.The Toad has been awarded Fodor's Choice Award each year including the most recent in 2012. They called us the "island's best value" on the Dutch side of St Maarten.This is a No Smoking property. No children under seven years of age, please. We can arrange to have a rental car for your use and stock your unit with food before arrival upon request. There is free high-speed WiFi in all the units and a complimentary computer with internet access and printer in the business center/reception area. Free gated parking on the property. Grocery stores, French bakery, shops and multiple restaurants are within a 5-6 block walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Horny Toad Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horny Toad Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.