We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebeard Charters

Bluebeard Charters
next To Lady C, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
587-5935
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 36 Activities in Simpson Bay
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Brampton Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

had a great time and Anguilla was fantastic...beautiful beach and wonderful swimming. Lunch was great ! The trip along the coast was fun with the sails up. Lots of drinks, beer, rum punch and ...did I say rum ? Martin was alot of fun !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    8
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been on catamaran day trips before in St.Maarten and St. Thomas and this did not disappoint! Our family of 4, including 2 teenagers, went on the Prickly Pear day trip from Simpson Bay. We reserved on-line prior ($75 pp.) and emailed Bruce. He emailed back promptly.Check-in at Buccaneer Bar was a breeze, friendly and laid-back staff. Our captain was Ted and first mates were Ingrid and a friendly fella from Czech Rep. They really get a work-out on the boat, constantly running around getting beverages for all on the boat, while manning the sails. Drinks were plentiful, alcoholic as well as juices, soda, water. The weather was clear, but the sea was a little rough and a few passengers got motion sickness, including my daughter. Crew was more than accommodating and she sat in the back in the lower part and that helped. Cheese and crackers were served on the way over to Prickly Pear. Had about 25-30 passengers and it was a perfect amount, not too crowded, but enough to have nice conversations and meet some really nice people. Good blend of people- Mostly people 50 yrs and older, but had about eight 20-30 year olds.So relieved that it wasn't a "Party cruise" with lots of intoxicated people. Don't get me wrong, lots of people drinking and having a great time but not obnoxious, just fun! After about 2 hours we anchored at Prickly Pear and snorkeled. Equipment is provided. Snorkeling was just ok that day, water a little rough and cloudy, but it was fun to just float around and use a noodle and enjoy the beautiful turquoise water. You can swim to shore or take the dinghy. There was a quaint little pavilion with several painted picnic tables where you are served a delicious lunch. You can choose fish, chicken, ribs or a combo or ribs/chicken. You make your lunch choice when you check in.You also get coleslaw, salad, roasted potatoes,and rice/beans. It was awesome! There is also a little shack that sells alcohol(extra, so bring some cash to shore). Gorgeous, uninhabited beach to just relax. You can also get a chair and umbrella for about $5 each if you choose. Were there for about 2 hours, then can either swim or get a dinghy ride back to boat. It was a little difficult getting in the dinghy for some people because waves were high, but crew is very helpful. If you swim make sure you bring a sealed/waterproof bag if you want to bring items to shore. The trip back was less rough and was very enjoyable. Crew is helpful and professional. We had a terrific time and would go again and recommend this excursion to friends. Also, we misplaced a camera, but didn't realize it til we returned to the States and Bruce tracked it down and got us in contact with who found it! Above and beyond service!! Thanks again for a wonderful day in St. Maarten!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Nice Time for All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went on a trip to Prickly Pear with our friends. Three preteen boys and five adults. We all had a simple nice day. The catamaran was great, we actually had the best day of the week, and the sailing was relaxing and calm. The drinks were flowing but we chose to stay hydrated and had plenty of water and soft drinks. The food on Prickly Pear was good even though my husband complained about it being cold, and we had a lovely day. Definitely recommend if you want a low key kind of day away from your timeshare or hotel. Unfortunately the snorkeling at Prickly Pear is not great so don't make this the target of your good time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marne, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Anguilla is a beautiful island. The trip is nice and relaxing. The booze is provided. Snorkeling was beautiful. The beach on Anguilla is BREATHTAKING.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great fun, great crew onboard Bluebeard to Prickly Pear.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just did the Friday Jan 25 excursion and had a great day onboard Bluebeard to Prickly Pear. This was our first trip with the Bluebeard team and they exceeded expectations.

The day started well when we were greeted with smiles by the check-in team at The Buccaneer Beach Bar. There were no surprises at check-in as the price on their website was the price we paid and were even able to us our Visa without the surcharge that other excursion operaters charge!

The Crew and Captain were great all day and could not do enough for us! The Cat is in perfect condition and washrooms were spotless. The drinks flowed all day but we had a well behaved group, so it did not feel like an out of control booze cruise. Great option for families, singles or couples!

Prickly Pear was stunning, the snokling was fun and the lunch served was tasty. I had the Mahi-Mahi and Jo Ann had the BBQ Chicken and we were both pleased.

This outfit has huge repeat business as more than half the guests were repeat cruisers and we even met one couple from Ottawa that was on their 20th trip with Bluebeard Charters and were on first name basis with crew and captain. The were greeted like returning family!

Thank you Bruce, your staff and the Bluebeard are fantastic!

Alex and Jo Ann.
Kelowna BC.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebeard Charters also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Bluebeard Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebeard Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.