We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market

Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market
Cole Bay, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
544-2313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 85 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I and another couple visited Skipjacks 2 weeks ago and enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere of the restaurant. Two of us tried the sesame crusted tuna and the other two had the grouper. The portions were generous and the fish was tasty and well cooked. We chatted quite a bit with our cute German waitress and engaging hostess who gave us some interesting facts about the island. We will definitely return for dinner when visiting the island next year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    188
    86
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Ont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Within walking distance from all the simpson bay time shares. The food is very good, My wife and I went with our 9 yr old. The shrimp Linguine and steak were both excellent. Lobster is on sale every day for $19.95/lb

Food and service both good -- I'll go again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lobster, lobster, lobster!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a great find in St. Maarten! We came across this restaurant on our last night and only wish we had found it earlier. We had a great table right on the water overlooking multi-million dollar yachts, great service and fantastic food. My husband had the fresh lobster (just tell them what size you want and they'll have it) and I had the ahi tuna...both were fantastic. We shared a shrimp cocktail for an appetizer and the shrimp were HUGE! Very reasonably priced and definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great food, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stopped by Skip Jack's after a day of riding the Rhino Safari. Started with beers, which were cold and went down well. We just had a quick lunch of fish and chips and crab backs. The crab backs were excellent and the fish and chips very good. It was quiet when we were there and the service was excellent. We did not have the lobster, however they have a fresh lobster pool where you can pick out your own lobster. The lobsters were huge, one we saw ordered weighed in over 5 pounds ($ 20 per pound). We sat on the lagoon side and were able to see all the beautiful yachts parked in the lagoon.

Skip Jacks also has a fresh fish market out front and we picked up some Grouper for dinner. It was very fresh and barbqued up to perfection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“"Great Seafood"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife & I had dinner here one night. We had a salad, & the shrimp cocktail. The food & service was very good, & the prices were reasonable. It is a great place to eat in Simpson Bay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.