We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market

Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market
Cole Bay, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
544-2313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 85 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Dined here twice during a 7 night stay in St. Maarten. The service was good and the seafood was great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    189
    86
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jerseyx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lobster.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Large lobsters that can be shared. Fried seafood platter had too much batter and crab back was bready.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We liked everything about Skipjack's. Of course, the whole ambiance of the island leads you to like lots.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were looking for a lobster dinner and Skipjack's was recommended to us as the place to go. It was a nice to place to eat because we were seated right away, and right alonside the water. The service was fantastic, it seemed as if they could read your mind, because just as you would think to need something they would show up to check if everything was ok or if they could get you anything. And as far as the food, they took you to pick your own lobster, mine was 4lbs. they prepared how you wanted it and it was cooked to perfection, sweet, tender perfection!! We enjoyed it so much we made sure to go back!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Looking for lobster...Our search came to fruition here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ate here twice during our week in St. Maarten. The first time, my friends shared a Surf and Turf so had a reasonable size Caribbean lobster and 10 oz steak and really enjoyed both. The second time three of the 4 of us had grilled Caribbean lobster ($19.95 lb special) and they were so large on this particular night that we had to share...our waiter was very solicitous and helped us all out with the side dishes. I only had 1/2 of a lobster and couldn't finish it. The first night I didn't see anything on the menu that I really wanted since I was looking exclusively for shrimp and they only had one or two entrees with shrimp. So I combined appetizers of tempura shrimp and crab back (deviled crab) and was very happy with those and a HUGE caesar salad. My friends who ordered fish loved their dishes, too. Excellent key lime pie - on the sweet side if that is your preference. Great service both times. It is on the bay so try to sit towards the rail.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.