We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market

Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market
Cole Bay, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
544-2313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 85 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The service was great, food mediocre. The lobster was tough and chewier than what we had at other places. The seafood platter was overcooked and dry.

Best lobster ever experienced on the island was at the Bridge Cafe in Marigot.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    188
    86
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I am not a HUGE seafood lover. I did go here and had the Caribbean Lobster- $50!!! I got to choose my lobster from their tank. It was decent. I had lobster only once before in Maine so this was my 2nd time eating it. Again, I am not a huge fan but it was tasty. The waiter was a bit rude but other than that, it was edible.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent....I would go there tonight if I was still in St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We went to Skipjacks twice in the week that we spent in St. Martin. There was construction which meant it was going to take us at least an hour and the food was so good that we braved it. We had grilled snapper, caribbean lobster(4 lbs I think!), seafood pot pie, various appetizers and drinks. Everything was fresh and absolutely delicious. The restaurant is very pretty inside and it sits right on Simpson Bay so if they have a waterside table available, go for it. We actually ended up going to Skipjacks because someone had recommended the restaurant 2 doors down(Lee's). We did not end up eating at Lee's as the music was way to loud for us and the overall atmosphere was not as nice as Skipjacks(plastic diner type chairs and whatnot). Also, Lee's had no Scotch at all??? Now that the construction is done, it is only about a 15-20 minute ride from downtown Philipsburg. It is a ride that is well worth it.Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Went in around 9:00 pm on a weeknight and it was pretty busy. Had a tank full of GIANT spiny lobsters right up front. Had to pass because there was no way we could even eat half of one of those. Had a bowl of clam chowder (New England). Wife had french onion soup, and both were very good. Followed up with crab cakes and tuna steak. Very reasonable wines by the glass. Good place in right in Simpson Bay

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh lobster in casual island do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The resturant is very casual atmosphere. The prices were higher than expected but the food was very fresh and so tasty. We even saw them bringing in 'catch of the days'.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.