We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant amongst many others” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Pete

Pineapple Pete
Simpson Bay East, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
544 6030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 85 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Seattle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good restaurant amongst many others”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Enjoyed our meal here but ranked equally - not better - than others. Nice meal and conch fritters fantastic. Service was only "OK" and meal arrived initially cold - was fixed but somewhat reluctantly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    324
    137
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great food, awesome atmosphere! We had grandchildren with us and the restaurant ensures a memorable lunch for children! (Their lunch is served on a frisbee that they get to keep) service & staff was wonderful, would definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meal was ok after returning the first time pity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I ordered a steak, it was very thin and very chewy, I sent it back. The potatoes were cold too. The second time it came it was much better. My husband had fish which was supposed to be grouper which it wasn't. Sorry to say we were disappointed but the cocktails are ok. Not too expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saba
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you want a wonderful meal, try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I live on one of the surrounding islands, and everyone loves this place. I know the fisherman that sell their fish to this place, so I know the quality is both fresh and wonderful. The service is outstanding, and whenever I get to St. Maartin I make sure I have at least one meal here. The environment is casual, perfect for getting off the boat or beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We travel often and when we're between islands, we just love to go to places we love and know that they "never get it wrong". Pineapple Pete is one of those places. Whether for lunch or dinner, they're a fantastic option any day of the week. There is NOWHERE on St. Maarten where the staff is this fun, friendly or efficient. We love Pierre and he runs this place with pride. The food? Well, I've tried almost everything on their menu over the past 8 years, but my favorites are still:Lobster Thermidor, Crab Stuffed Shrimp, Ribeye, Lobster Bisque, Spinach and Crab Crusted Grouper and those awesome Conch Fritters. The burgers are succulent and juicy, too. When I think of great food, great service in a relaxing and fun atmosphere on SXM, only one place comes to mind and that's Pineapple Pete. Keep up the great work, guys... Don't forget to visit their new sister restaurant over at Port de Plaisance. It's called Sushiitto and it's touted at "Japanese with a twist". Haven't tried it as yet, but knowing Pierre and his golden touch, it will probably be a new island favorite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple Pete also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Pineapple Pete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Pete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.