We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY FAVORITE BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Simpson Bay Road 121 | Simpson Bay, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721 5239983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Dutch, Dessert, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Specialized in healthy and delicious food, Karakter offers only the best: the best smoothies, salads, wines, beers, cocktails, tapas and lunches. Our lounge chairs, wooden couches and lounge cushions, paired with amazing white sand and a perfect blue sea, complete the ultimate Caribbean experience. Karakter. Your total beach experience. Just relax and we will take care of the rest...
wading river ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Karakter beach is amazing . My favorite Beach on the island!! This is a m,ust. The beach and sand are gorgeous!! White baby powder!! The water is so clear . Now about the people who own the bus on the beach. the food is off the hook! Everything is fabulous. Cannot believe that they serve this type of food on the beach!! All meals and drinks are served on real glasswear. No plastic forks, plates, cups, etc. The frozen drinks are delicious! A bucket of amstel brights are $13 . You don't have to pay for chair or umbrella!!This is a must if you are going to St. Maarten!!!The staff is also amazing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    190
    54
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Right on the beach with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here twice and had excellent food both times. This is right on the beach in Simpson Bay and near the end of the airport runway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was one of the neatest bars. Great beach with nice waves. It's right next to the airport so you can see planes land. I liked this place much better than the bars at Maho..where its an absolute zoo. A wedding was going on when we arrived and they did not shoo us away.

The drinks were really good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wasn't sure what to think when I saw the parking situation, a little crazy. Had to park at Mary Boon's next door and I was afraid I might get towed. Nope. The setting is wonderful, crashing waves and a sailboat anchored just offshore. Children are running about on the beach, sexy French women are tanning, and the staff is relaxed and anxious to please. The "ocean karakter" and "greek karakter" were both great sandwiches, but the dessert was amazing. Strawberry pie that was half tart -half pie and excellent, and a chocolate lava cake that oozed dark chocolate. Our server was a charming blonde girl that was flexible about table switching and we ended up having one of our best afternoons. Do not miss this place. Come for the afternoon to eat, drink, and dip in the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehrhoog, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“situated directly to beach, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cocktails, food, location, Style. Beach chairs are for free when you have drinks, lunch and/or diner. Very friendly staff. Free Wifi.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karakter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.