We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Simpson Bay Road 121 | Simpson Bay, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 721 5239983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 88 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialized in healthy and delicious food, Karakter offers only the best: the best smoothies, salads, wines, beers, cocktails, tapas and lunches. Our lounge chairs, wooden couches and lounge cushions, paired with amazing white sand and a perfect blue sea, complete the ultimate Caribbean experience. Karakter. Your total beach experience. Just relax and we will take care of the rest...
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right on the beach with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here twice and had excellent food both times. This is right on the beach in Simpson Bay and near the end of the airport runway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    196
    61
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was one of the neatest bars. Great beach with nice waves. It's right next to the airport so you can see planes land. I liked this place much better than the bars at Maho..where its an absolute zoo. A wedding was going on when we arrived and they did not shoo us away.

The drinks were really good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wasn't sure what to think when I saw the parking situation, a little crazy. Had to park at Mary Boon's next door and I was afraid I might get towed. Nope. The setting is wonderful, crashing waves and a sailboat anchored just offshore. Children are running about on the beach, sexy French women are tanning, and the staff is relaxed and anxious to please. The "ocean karakter" and "greek karakter" were both great sandwiches, but the dessert was amazing. Strawberry pie that was half tart -half pie and excellent, and a chocolate lava cake that oozed dark chocolate. Our server was a charming blonde girl that was flexible about table switching and we ended up having one of our best afternoons. Do not miss this place. Come for the afternoon to eat, drink, and dip in the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehrhoog, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“situated directly to beach, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cocktails, food, location, Style. Beach chairs are for free when you have drinks, lunch and/or diner. Very friendly staff. Free Wifi.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Outstanding Bar & Restaurant on Simpson Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Karakter is about a 7 minute walk from the Azure hotel where we stayed for a week. We went to Karakter 3 times for drinks and food. This is one of the best beach bars in the world in my opinion. Not too crowded, not too expensive, good food, great vibe, awesome location. We loved it each time we went. Great cocktails, fun appetizers, and very good main courses. We had pretty much everything they offer, and everything was really good or better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karakter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.