We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Simpson Bay Road 121, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
599 5239983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 71 restaurants in Simpson Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Right on the beach with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here twice and had excellent food both times. This is right on the beach in Simpson Bay and near the end of the airport runway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    285
    130
    42
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was one of the neatest bars. Great beach with nice waves. It's right next to the airport so you can see planes land. I liked this place much better than the bars at Maho..where its an absolute zoo. A wedding was going on when we arrived and they did not shoo us away.

The drinks were really good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wasn't sure what to think when I saw the parking situation, a little crazy. Had to park at Mary Boon's next door and I was afraid I might get towed. Nope. The setting is wonderful, crashing waves and a sailboat anchored just offshore. Children are running about on the beach, sexy French women are tanning, and the staff is relaxed and anxious to please. The "ocean karakter" and "greek karakter" were both great sandwiches, but the dessert was amazing. Strawberry pie that was half tart -half pie and excellent, and a chocolate lava cake that oozed dark chocolate. Our server was a charming blonde girl that was flexible about table switching and we ended up having one of our best afternoons. Do not miss this place. Come for the afternoon to eat, drink, and dip in the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehrhoog, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“situated directly to beach, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Cocktails, food, location, Style. Beach chairs are for free when you have drinks, lunch and/or diner. Very friendly staff. Free Wifi.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding Bar & Restaurant on Simpson Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Karakter is about a 7 minute walk from the Azure hotel where we stayed for a week. We went to Karakter 3 times for drinks and food. This is one of the best beach bars in the world in my opinion. Not too crowded, not too expensive, good food, great vibe, awesome location. We loved it each time we went. Great cocktails, fun appetizers, and very good main courses. We had pretty much everything they offer, and everything was really good or better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karakter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.