We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop when arriving--direct from airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Simpson Bay Road 121, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
599 5239983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 71 restaurants in Simpson Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
sc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First stop when arriving--direct from airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Casual beach bar, next to the runway. Food was excellent. We got off the plane, took a taxi to Karakter, opened our luggage and changed clothes and we were on vacation!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    285
    131
    42
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food Was Good Service Left a Bad Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have a residence about 3/4 mile down the beach from Karakter. We spend about 4 to 6 months here annually and have been frequenting this funky converted school bus/beach bar since they opened. We have experienced both positives and negatives here. On the plus side, beach chairs and umbrellas are provided without charge with your food and/or drink purchases. We have always found the food to be quite good but portions are small. The location on the beach next to the airport fence adds to the funky, beach, ambience. Karakter is not on any main road therefore not easy to find. It is mostly patronized by locals. It has become very popular by word of mouth. Parking is extremely limited. Service is not consistant and prices are high for what is offered. Although located close to our home, walking distance down the beach, the prices prevent us from visiting Karakter more frequently. On our last visit we had to ask for menus, ask to have our order taken, ask for drink refills, and ask for our check. Having to ask for your check is common on this island as in some cultures it is considered rude to present a check before it is requested. We are used to this. It was not crowded and seemed to be well staffed. Our service was really bad. Our bill came to $32 and I gave the waitress providing poor service a $50 bill. After a very long wait, she never returned with our change. I had to go to the school bus to ask for my change. They had to go through a stack of bills to find our check and then give me my change. I usually tip 20% for good service or 25% for great service. I am not sure why this waitress thought her sub-par service was worth a tip of $18 almost 50%. The food was good but the service left a bad taste. Not sure when we will return. The bad taste will probably go away with time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“These People Are Missing The Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I just read some reviews complaining about poor service, high price food .. whatever. I think these whiners are completely missing the personality of Karakter - You don't go there for a sit-down gourmet meal! You go for the beach, a free chair and an umbrella, and to have your food and drinks served to you at your chairs by the nicest people on the island (Louisa, Leona, and Monica come to mind). Having crabcakes, samosas, nachos (and much more) delivered to your beach chair along with beer or wine is a bad thing?! Give me a break. People who go to Karakter to sit up by the bus and just eat the food miss the point completely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went to this beach bar for late lunch and were not as pleased as we had hoped. Food was just ok and the prices were quite high. Nice spot to enjoy the beach and some drinks but be prepared to pay more than normal and receive subpar service. Even though our hotel was just a few feet away we would not return there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been to Karakter a few times now and everytime the service is very slow. We had to ask for menus and then ask who are waiter was. We were there at least 30 minutes before someone ask for our drink order. It was late in the afternoon and many beach people had left so it wasn't all that busy. That was after I stopped someone. It is in a beautiful spot and is fun. I would recommend lunch rather than dinner. The lunch menu is wonderful. The food is kind of hit and miss but appetizers however are amazing. I would certainly go check it out, but make sure you have lots of time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karakter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.