We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Simpson Bay Road 121, Simpson Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
599 5239983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“beautiful tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We walked from the Pelican Resort , which is quite a hike but worth it. When we arrived all but one of the tables were full and the place was buzzing. However, we were served quickly and by very friendly staff. The place had a lull around 8pm, I think people had come early to have a meal before the sun was down and watch it set, then left and the later crowd was just coming in about 8.30pm. The food was beautifully presented.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    148
    47
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
various
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A nice walk down the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Walked there on our first evening on Simpson Beach. The service was a bit slow but we didn't mind as it was nice sitting listening to the music and the waves. The creole grouper was tasty and I always appreciate good beans and rice with fried sweet plantains.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Karakter Beach Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Karakter beach is located along side the airport. Limited seating on the beach but well worth the drive. excellant food and drinks.
You get the chairs and umbrella with the purchase of drins or food. Staff is really friendly and accomadating. Fun place to be!!! We make sure that we get there every year once or more!!!
Can be little noisy when the palnes are coming in or leaving.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tucked between the airport landing field and the ocean is this great beach with a funky restaurant. Beach is beautiful (though quite a shelf that can make getting out a little difficult). Chairs and umbrellas are free but they ask that you not bring food and order something from the restaurant. The wait staff is not pushy at all. We have had the melted Brie on a crispy baquette which was very good. Mixed drinks are also quite good. Piña coladas were a favorite. Your order is served either at the tables on the deck or at your beach location. Warning. Gets busy early so if you want beach seating get there early. Especially on sat. And sun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach Bar/Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Drinkd served on beach in a Glass.......Food on China plates.....free chairs if you eat or drink...Beautiful beach and view...Whats not to like!!!!!!!1

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karakter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.